BJP’s Fuke wrests Bhandara-Gondia from NCP, Sawant wins in Yavatmal

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 23 Nov 2016 11:04:15

District Correspondents,


BJP’s Dr Parinay Fuke defeats sitting two time MLC Rajendra Jain by

a margin of 83 votes

Tanaji Sawant of BJP-Sena alliance, registers a massive win by 370 votes

Sandeep Bajoriya (Cong) polls merely two votes in Yavatmal

Bharatiya Janata Party and its alliance with Shiv Sena proved its dominance in Bhandara–Gondia and Yavatmal Local Self-Governing Authorities Constituency of Maharashtra Legislative Council.
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Dr Parinay Ramesh Fuke won the prestigious Bhandara–Gondia MLC seat defeating sitting two time MLC Rajendra Jain of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) by a margin of 83 votes. The BJP candidate registered his victory for the very first time from MLC seat.

The counting was held at Bhandara Collectorate on Tuesday. Fuke defeated Jain with a comfortable margin. Fuke polled 153 votes of first preference while Jain polled 117 and Praful Gopaldas Agarwal (Congress) polled 112 votes. Fuke got 67 votes of second preference and Jain managed to get just 20 votes. It may be recalled that in the polling held on November 19, total 387 voters exercise their franchise out of which five votes were found invalid. Importantly, this is for the very first time that a BJP candidate has won the Legislative Council election from Bhandara –Gondia seat.

The seat was previously held by Rajendra Jain. Soon after the results were announced by Returning Officer and Bhandara Collector Dr Abhijeet Chaudhari, Fuke supporters started celebrating by bursting crackers and distributing sweets. There were eight candidates in fray. The remaining five candidates failed to even open their account.

BJP MLAs Vijay Rahangdale, Sanjay Puram, Rajesh Kashiwar , Adv Ramchandra Awsare , Charan Waghmare, former Shiv Sena MLA Narendra Bhondekar, Vinod Agarwal, Dinesh Dadriwal, ZP Vice-President Rachna Gahane, General Secretary Virendra Anjankar (Organisation), Santosh Chauhan, Dhananjay Mohkar, BJP District President Hemant Patle, Balu Badwaik, Amit Budhe were the first to congratulate Dr Fuke. Election Observer A L Jarhad, Additional Collector Dr Pradeep Dange, Assistant Election Officer Pravin Mahire, RDC Ashok Latare, Deputy Collector Vijay Urkude (Election) were present during counting process. Returning Officer presented victory certificate to Dr Fuke .
The historic victory of Dr Parinay Fuke is likely to boost the morale of party workers of BJP in both Bhandara and Gondia districts. One could expect significant change in coming days, during civic body elections. The win would also bring all the workers together, felt a senior BJP leader.

Notably, in 2006 election also BJP had fielded Sandeep Gavai from Nagpur and had lost to NCP’s Rajendra Jain. But the election fought this time was well-planned. Virendra Anjankar, General Secretary (Organisation) and in-charge for the constituency, stated that they were very confident of Fuke’s victory as each of the party workers had worked hard.
Dr Parinay Fuke, who is two time corporator from Nagpur, is considered to be very close to Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis. He joined the BJP a few months back and was fielded against a seasoned Rajendra Jain of NCP.

The BJP has bagged 119 votes and their ally Shiv Sena 25 votes, the total of which is 144 whereas Fuke has polled 153 votes of first preference against 117 of Jain (NCP) and 112 of Agarwal (Cong). Fuke was comfortably ahead even in second preference vote. He polled 67 votes as against 20 of Jain. There were 24 independent voters while NCP got 123 votes and Cong 103.
YAVATMAL: Tanaji Sawant of Sena-BJP alliance registered an outstanding win in the MLC polls. He defeated Shankar Bade of Congress by 270 votes.
Surprisingly, Sandeep Bajoria of Nationalist Congress Party could poll only 2 votes. The counting was done at the Bhachat Bhavan at Collectorate in the presence of Sachindra Pratap Singh, Returning Officer and District Collector. Tanaji Sawant scored a big lead in the first preference votes and so there wasn’t a need of second preference.

Five votes were declared invalid. Chandrakant Dalvi, Commissioner (Cooperatives) was the Election Observer. Tight police security was maintained in the Collector office premises. Yavatmal district had seven polling centres and counting was done separately at each centre. In Yavatmal, Tanaji Sawant polled 121 votes while Shankar Bade secured 31 votes and Sandeep Bajoria bagged mere 2 votes. In Wani, Tanaji Sawant polled 41votes and Shankar Bade 6.
In Pandharkawada, Sawant scored 48 votes and Bade 9. In Ralegaon, Tanaji Sawant polled 31 votes and Bade 6 bagged 6 votes. In Darwha, Sawant scored 30 votes and Bade 11 while in Pusad, Tanaji Sawant bagged 40 votes and Shankar Bade 30. In Umarkhed, Sawant polled 37 votes, while Bade could manage only 2 votes. In all, Tanaji Sawant bagged total 348 votes and Shankar Bade 78 votes.

Shiv Sainiks celebrated the victory of Tanaji Sawant, who is a native of Sawargaon (Fuke). The activists burst crackers and dancing on the beats of dhol and tasha at the Collectorate. Sanjay Rathod, District Guardian Minister, Bhavana Gawali, MP, Madan Yerawar, Minister of State for Energy, Rajendra Dange, BJP District President, Principal Dr Ashok Uike, MLA, and others were present on the occasion. Sachindra Pratap Singh, Returning Officer, presented the victory certificate to Tanaji Sawant.
After the results were out, jubilant Tanaji Sawant expressed gratitude towards both the BJP, Shiv Sena and also NCP for extending him support. He said his priorities would be to prevent farmers’ suicides and bring development.

Shankar Bade said his party was helpless before the power of money. It is the victory of money and not principals and ethics. “I don’t blame anybody for the party’s loss,” he further added.
Nanded: Congress sitting MLA Amarnath Rajurkar won Nanded Local Governing Authority Constituency by 43 votes. He defeated his rival Shyamsundar Shinde (Independent).
Total 471 members cast their votes and among them 12 voters were declared invalid. Congress candidate Amarnath Rajurkar polled 251 votes and Shyamsundar Shinde bagged 208 votes. As expected Rajurkar won the seat. He has been elected for the second time. The counting was held at district collectrorate amid tight security.