Crime Branch cracks Rs 46 lakh robbery case, nabs three

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 30 Dec 2016 10:24:11


Staff Reporter,

Cops recover Rs 23.75 lakh cash from the trio

Sleuths of Crime Branch on Thursday arrested four robbers involved in loot of Rs 46 lakh from a businessman in Pachpaoli area on December 9, post demonetisation. The cops recovered Rs 23.75 lakh cash from the accused hidden in an empty water tank. Posing as Income Tax officers of Assistant Commissioner rank, they decamped with cash from two persons who had come to exchange the cash.

The arrested accused are identified as Mohd Shahzad alias Mulla alias Sajju Mohd Ibrahim (36), Moiz Khan alias Monu Abdul Jabbar Khan Durrani (22), both are residents of Asi Nagar, Shahbaj Sheikh Sagir Sheikh (26) and Dost Mohd alias Baba Noor Mohd (48), both are residents of Pili Haweli, Kamptee. One Yusuf Ahmed Najib Ahmed is still absconding.

Addressing a press conference, Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP Crime) Ranjan Kumar Sharma informed that Mohd Shahzad is the main conspirator in the crime. Acting on tip-off, team of Crime Branch arrested Shahzad and Moiz Khan from Bhandara where they were hiding post the incident. Accused Shahbaj Sheikh and Dost Mohd were picked-up from Kamptee.

Anuj Agrawal, Proprietor, Sheetal Sales Corporation No. 180, Small Factory Area, Bhandara Road, and supplier of MS pipes and slotted angles, allegedly struck a deal with Durrani of giving Rs 46 lakh, and in exchange was to get old currency notes of Rs 50 lakh.

Anuj and his cousin Vineet came in contact with Moiz and Shahzad through one Khushal Mookhey. However, cops are still probing role of Mookhey. Agrawal brothers came to home of Shahzad where they were supposed to make the payment. The Agrawals were paid an additional Rs 1 lakh in cash in addition to Rs 45 lakh as commission for changing the currency.

While the notes were being counted, three men came impersonating as Income Tax Officers. They took away bag containing cash from Agrawal. When Agrawal realised that they were not Income Tax officers, he approached Pachpaoli Police and lodged a complaint. DCP Sharma further informed that after committing the robbery, the accused had gone to Hyderabad, Delhi, Bhopal, Balaghat, Rampayli and other places.

The arrest was made under the guidance of Commissioner of Police Dr. K. Venkatesham, Joint Commissioner of Police Santosh Rastogi, DCP Ranjan Kumar Sharma, ACP Nilesh Raut while Police Inspector Vaibhav Jadhav, API Gokul Suryawanshi and staff including Rafiq Khan, Shailesh Patil, Rajesh Kshirsagar, Suresh Hingnekar, Shailesh Thawre, Arun Dharme, Daya Bisandre, Anil Dubey, Atul Dawande, Firoz Sheikh and Satyendra Yadav carried out the investigations.
The accused have been booked under Sections 506, 395 and 170 of the Indian Penal Code (IPC).