BJP retains bastion, gets jolt in Kamptee

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 10 Jan 2017 10:27:32

The Hitavada team,

Guardian Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule suffers reverses in Kamptee where Congress won President’s post

The party reigns supreme in Gondia and Tirora Municipal Councils

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) maintained its supremacy in the fourth phase of Municipal Council elections in Nagpur district by capturing five presidential posts out of nine that were at stake. The counting was held at respective councils on Monday.

However, BJP and Guardian Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule received a setback in Kamptee where Congress snatched the victory from BJP-led alliance. Shahjahan Shafat of Congress became President of Kamptee Municipal Council.

Shafat bagged 16,690 votes and he won the election by 2,500 votes. He defeated BJP’s Ajay Kadam who pocketed 14,261 votes. Out of 32 seats of corporator, Congress won 16 seats while BJP bagged eight seats, independent candidates pocketed three seats and Bharatiya Republican Ekta Manch bagged two.

Shiv Sena, MIM and Bharatiya Samajwadi Party bagged one seat each.
In Ramtek, BJP scored a thumping win by bagging 13 seats out of 17 total seats. Shiv Sena and Congress won two seats each. BJP’s Dilip Deshmukh won the presidential poll.

The party bagged four more presidential posts, that of Kalmeshwar, Umred, Khapa and Saoner. Other than Kamptee, Congress won the President’s seat at Mohpa also.

In Katol, Vidarbha Maza’s Vaishali Thakur emerged victorious while in Narkhed, Sthanik Vikas Aghadi candidate, Abhijeet Gupta scored a victory.
In Saoner, Congress was shocked to the core as BJP pocketed 12 seats out of 20 while Congress won only four seats in their stronghold. BJP’s Rekha Modave became President of Nagar Parishad.

In Khapa BJP recorded thumping win by pocketing 15 seats out of 17. Congress had to be satisfied with only one seat while an independent bagged the remaining one. BJP’s Priyanka Mohite is the new president of Khapa Nagar Parishad.

Out of 25 seats, BJP candidates won at 14 places in Umred while Congress could bag only six seats. BJP’s Vijayalaxmi Bhadoria became the President.
Narkhed is a stronghold of former minister Anil Deshmukh but this time independent candidate Abhijeet Gupta bagged the presidential post while BJP failed to open its account. Out of 17 seats, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won 8 seats, Independent candidates won six seats and Shiv Sena won three.

In Kalmeshwar, BJP’s Smruti Ikhar won the presidential post even though Congress bagged 10 seats out of total 17 seats.
In Mohpa, Congress scored victory by winning 10 seats out of total 17.
Party’s Shobha Kautkar became the Nagar Parishad President. BJP pocketed five seats.

In Katol, Vaishali Thakur of Vidarbha Maza bagged presidential seat. Out of 20, Vidarbha Maza, backed by Charansingh Thakur won 15 seats, Peasants Workers Party (PWP) won four and BJP bagged only one seat.

In Gondia, BJP’s Ashok Keshavrao Ingle emerged winner of the civic chief’s post. The party retained the single largest party status by wining 18 seats out of total 42 seats. Congress remained second with 9 seats in its pocket and Nationalist Congress Party stood third by winning 7 seats. The election proved fruitful for Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) as they managed to win five seats, Shiv Sena bagged two seats. Former civic chief Govind Shende’s son Sachin Shende won as independent candidate in Gondia.

Similarly, in Tirora MC , BJP’s Sonali Amrut Deshpande registered historic victory against Mamta Anand Bais of NCP by thin margin of 95 votes. Here, NCP emerged as single largest party by winning 9 out of 17 seats followed by BJP – 5, SS – 2 and Independent – 1.

Senior BJP leader Ashok Ingle defeated Ashok Laxminarayan Gupta (NCP) by margin of 5,949 votes. Gupta polled 18,551 votes against 24,500 votes of Ingle, Congress’ Rakesh Angadsingh Thakur remained on the third position with 12,553 votes followed by BSP’s Pankaj Sunderlal Yadav (9,269). Shiv Sena’s Durgesh Yuvraj Rahangdale was on fifth position with 3,322 votes. In all, 72,585 votes were polled out of which 4 were found invalid and 529 others opted for NOTA button.

There were 14 candidates in the fray. Among independents Hariram Kishnomal Motwani polled 781 votes and Chailbihari Matadin Agarwal of Vidarbha Rajya Aghadi got 694 votes.
The BJP has bettered its position in the 42 members house by winning 18 seats to emerge as single largest party.

It has retained the winning status. The Congress won on seats. The NCP suffered major blow and party managed to win on just 7 seats.n Staff Reporter Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) showed its supremacy in the local body polls, indicating its growing strength in the rural politics of State. After fourth phase of Municipal Council elections, BJP extended the gains to emerge at the top of the tally among the four main contenders. The ruling party bagged highest number of Municipal Council Presidents and also Corporators in the State.

In the current fourth phase segment the tally as compared to 2011 is quite impressive. The BJP has improved from earlier 58 seats to 104 seats on its own while all other three main parties witnessed downfall.
Compared to year 2011, BJP leads the state-wide tally in numbers (previous year figures in bracket) BJP-1207(398), Shiv Sena -616(359), Congress-919(1065), NCP-788 (1146).

Even in Nagpur and Gondia districts where voting took place on Sunday the tally as compared to 2011 is BJP-104 (58), Shiv Sena-14(26), Congress-55(73), Nationalist Congress Party-24(35). The position in Vidarbha has again showed that people of region are fully behind BJP as their seven candidates of Nagaradhakshya (Council President) won from the 11 seats at stake. At second position was Cong-2, while Shiv Sena and NCP drew blank and Independent won at two places.

Intensive campaigning by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari and Guardian Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule helped the BJP candidates in securing thumping victory and consolidating party position in almost every assembly segment.

In Nagpur district from nine Nagar Parishad, five were swept by BJP while Independents scored at two others places. The reverses in Kamptee, Katol and Narkhed indicated that local chose to vote for parties other than BJP. Especially in Kamptee, the leaving of Ranjit Safelkar seems to hit the voters arithmetic leaving field open for Congress to wrest both the post of Nagaradhyakshya and also bagging maximum posts of corporators. It is a setback for Guardian Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule since he represents Kamptee assembly segment. However, the social and communal composition of Kamptee was never easy for the BJP. At Katol, the pro-Vidarbha party, Vidarbha Maza, emerged victorious stunning the established forte of BJP and Nationalist Congress Party. Currently Katol segment is represented by Dr Ashish Deshmukh of BJP. Local strongman, Charansingh Thakur once again bounced back to power in Katol, where he has been in and out of power. His differences with local MLA prompted BJP to expel him from the party and decision seemed to have backfired. At Narkhed, while NCP bagged maximum number of seats but independent candidate Abhijeet Gupta won the post of President.