Chief Minister promises to take Maharashtra to glorious heights

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 02 Jan 2017 09:42:16


Staff Reporter,

• Devendra Fadnavis bestowed with prestigious Nag Bhushan award

• Reiterates commitment to wipe-out backlog of Vidarbha

• Nagpur getting its legitimate due

• Nagpur-Mumbai prosperity corridor will change destiny of Vidarbha

On Sunday, the city honoured its able son -- Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis -- who has made his distinct mark and carved a niche for himself in high echelons of political corridors due to his relentless pursuit of development of Maharashtra. Not only Nagpur, but even people of Mumbai will never forget that a man from Nagpur ensured rapid development of Maharashtra and its capital, a confident Fadnavis stated after receiving prestigious Nag Bhushan (Pride of Nagpur) award for his distinguished service.

Promising to develop every part of Maharashtra, Fadnavis assured people of the State that his Government is working with dedication to wipeout backlog of backward regions like Vidarbha and take it along the path of development. As a true son of the city, Fadnavis made it clear that while ensuring progress of Nagpur and giving the Orange City its legitimate due, he will ensure that other major cities like Mumbai, Nashik, Pune will not lag behind.

While replying to his felicitation after accepting Nag Bhushan Award, Fadnavis thanked the Nag Bhushan Foundation and stated that the award would remind him about his duties in future. For him, Nag Bhushan Award is important award than Padma Bhushan or even Padma Vibhushan, because it has come from his own home town and family members, he added.

Earlier, the prestigious Nag Bhushan Award 2016 consisting of Rs one lakh cash prize, shawl, sreefal and a memento was given to Fadnavis at the hands of Union Minister of Road Transport and Shipping, Nitin Gadkari at Sai Sabhagruha, Shankar Nagar. Union Minister of state for home, Hansraj Ahir presided over the function. Former Judge of Supreme Court, Justice Vikas Sirpurkar, Mayor Pravin Datke, MP Ajay Sancheti, MP Dr Vikas Mahatme, President of Nag Bhushan Foundation, Prabhakar Mundle, Vice President, Satyanarayan Nuwal; Secretary Girish Gandhi and Treasurer Brajkishore Agrawal along with members of Nag Bhushan Foundation shared the dais.

Going down the memory lane, Devendra Fadnavis recalled various events of his life and credited Nitin Gadkari for playing an important role in shaping his political career. He wanted to practice as a lawyer. While working with Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) the party had directed him to contest election of Municipal Corporation. The entire political journey from corporator to Chief Minister was possible because of guidance of seniors and faith of common public, he stated with a sense of gratitude.

Chief Minister talked about the decisions taken by him for reducing backlog of Vidarbha. The irrigation projects in Vidarbha would be completed within three years. A grant of Rs 5,000 crores has been sanctioned for the first time for agriculture projects in saline belt in Amravati district while transformation of agriculture will be done through integrated development projects in Yavatmal district. Like these, many projects would change the complete face of Vidarbha in future, he confidently stated.

Union Minister of Road Transport Nitin Gadkari praised Fadnavis by calling him as “a dedicated man with great intellectual capability and capacity to lead state.” As Chief Minister, Fadnavis had given new momentum and direction to the development of Maharashtra state.
Gadkari took a brief review of political journey of Devendra Fadnavis and said that because of the dedication and selfless work by seniors like Late Gangadhar Fadnavis, Sumatitai Sukalikar, Pt Bachchraj Vyas etc Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) came to
power. He also expressed confidence that Fadnavis would make Vidarbha and Maharashtra as the most advanced area in country.Justice Vikas Sirpurkar and Hansraj Ahir recalled various moments in the life of Devendra Fadnavis. MP Ajay Sancheti made introductory remarks. Girish Gandhi delivered welcome speech. Rekha Dandige conducted the proceedings and Ashok Gandhi proposed a vote of thanks.

Prominent among those present on this occasion include MLA Sudhakar Kohale, MLA Vikas Kumbhare, Divisional Commissioner Anoop Kumar, Jaiprakash Gupta, Nishant Gandhi, Suresh Sharma, Rajendra Purohit, Zamin Amin, D.R Mall, Vilas Kale, Padmesh Gupta, Mohan Agrawal and others.