Polling for 11 mpl councils in Nagpur, Gondia distts today

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 08 Jan 2017 09:47:49

Staff Reporter,

Total 92 candidates are in the fray for 11 posts of directly elected civic chiefs, 1,190 contesting for 244 seats of councillors

The booths are all set for polling on Sunday for 11 municipal councils in Nagpur and Gondia districts in Vidarbha. As many as 92 candidates are in the fray for 11 posts of directly elected civic chiefs, and 1,190 are contesting for 244 seats of councillors.

The elections assume significance mainly due to high-profile campaign that ended on Saturday. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) resorted to aggressive campaign by roping in Devendra Fadnavis, Chief Minister; Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister for Road Transport and Highways; Sudhir Mungantiwar, Finance and Forest Minister; Chandrashekhar Bawankule, Guardian Minister of district; and other leaders.

Fadnavis himself toured extensively and addressed public meetings at all 11 municipal councils in Nagpur and Gondia districts.

Congress also conducted campaign meetings that were addressed by Ashok Chavan, MP and President of Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee; Nitesh Rane, MLA; and Sunil Kedar, MLA. Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) roped in Dhananjay Munde, Leader of Opposition in Legislative Council. However, Congress and NCP campaign meetings were held in limited municipal councils.

The municipal councils that are going to polls on Sunday are Kamptee, Umred, Katol, Kalmeshwar, Mohpa, Ramtek, Narkhed, Khapa, and Saoner in Nagpur district; besides Tirora and Gondia in Gondia district.

This will be the fourth and last phase of municipal bodies polls in the State. After three phases of local bodies polls in the State so far, ruling BJP is leading with 1,090 councillor seats and 64 posts of municipal council President. Congress comes a close second with 894 seats and 33 posts of President, NCP third with 786 seats and 21 posts of President, and Shiv Sena fourth with 598 seats and 26 posts of President. The rest have been won by local outfits, Independents, and other political parties.
As the campaign ended on Saturday, all eyes were on polling on Sunday. All these municipal councils clubbed together have total 3,82,060 voters of which 1,91,791 are men, 1,90,263 are women, and six are Others. For these voters, total 502 polling booths have been set up. The polling will be conducted between 7.30 am and 5.30 pm.

Chandrashekhar Bawankule, Guardian Minister of district, appealed to the voters to exercise their franchise in large numbers and avail of the opportunity given to every citizen by the Constitution of India. “Voting is a sacred right and all voters should exercise it,” he stated in a press release.

-------------------- BOX -----------------
Municipal Councils and candidates
Mpl Council Candidates
President Councillor
Kamptee 12 189 (32)
Umred 08 133 (25)
Katol 09 114 (23)
Kalmeshwar 08 67 (17)
Mohpa 07 68 (17)
Ramtek 07 81 (17)
Narkhed 09 73 (17)
Khapa 05 61 (17)
Saoner 05 75 (20)
Gondia 14 257 (42)
Tirora 08 72 (17)
Total 92 1,190 (244)
(Figures in brackets indicate total seats of councillors)
(Source: State Election Commission data)