Poor voting in by-poll, result today

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 12 Oct 2017 09:42:48


Staff Reporter,

Low turnout of the voters in the by-poll of prabhag 35 (A) has increased the worries of all political parties. Only 24.33 percent voters cast votes in the election held on Wednesday. The fate of Sandeep Gavai of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Pankaj Thorat of Congress and Nanda Zodape of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) including other candidates now hangs in balance. The votes will be counted on October 12 at Bachat Bhavan, in front of Hotel Hardeo.

Election Officer and Deputy Collector Shirish Pande informed The Hitavada that the voting percent was low since morning in the prabhag. Total 14,035 voters have cast their votes out of total 57,693 voters in the prabhag, this includes 7,856 male and 6,179 female voters.

In the first two hours in the morning, only 3.53 percent votes were polled while till 11.30 am, the voting percentage rise upto 8.42 only. The voting percentage was 13.34 till 1.30 pm and by 3.30 pm only five per cent votes were cast and it marginally went upto 18.75 percent. During last two crucial hours, the voting slightly picked up and reached upto 24.33 percent. The low turnout is giving anxious moments to prominent candidates. The other candidates in the fray are-Vandana Jeevane, Sudhakar Khonde, Sunil Kawade, Madhuri Ukey, and Shashikant Narnaware of Ambedkarite Party of India. The political experts believe that the contest is tough and winning margin may be very thin.

This is one of the biggest cosmopolitan prabhag spread over 27 sq km area. The prabhag’s boundaries are from Ajni Railway quarter, Parvati Nagar to Chinchbhuvan. The voting was held on 43 polling booths situated in 14 polling stations.

BJP contested election under leadership of senior corporator Avinash Thakre. Mayor Nanda Jichkar, Ruling Party leader Sandip Joshi, Standing Committee Chief Sandeep Jadhav, Deputy Mayor Deepraj Pardikar, Rajeev Hadap, Munna Yadav, Ramesh Singare, Bandu Raut, Deepak Choudhari, Yogesh Gonnade, Surendra Pande and others who intensively canvassed in the prabhag. Sandeep Gavai also visited every polling booth to motivate party workers.

Congress City President Vikas Thakre, former Leader of Opposition Sanjay Mahakalkar, Vishal Muttemwar, Vasudeo Dhoke, and others also motivated party workers for the election.

During last election held in March 2017, BJP’s Avinash Thakre won the election by a thumping margin of 6,700 votes while late Nilesh Kumbhare had won the election by a difference of 3,700 votes.