Distt-level competitions of National Science exhibition held

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 13 Oct 2017 10:36:59


Staff Reporter,

The district-level competitions of Jawaharlal Nehru National Science, Mathematics and Environment Exhibition organised on the title ‘Innovations for Sustainable Development’ at Pt. Lajja Shankar Jha School of Excellence on Thursday.
Out of six, five competitions including model, skit, environment song, extempore and quiz were organised for students while one (seminar) was for teachers.

It may be mentioned that National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT), New Delhi organizes Jawaharlal Nehru National Science, Mathematics and Environment Exhibition for students studying in classes between VI and XII every year.

These competitions were organised under sub-titles Health and well-being, Resource Management and Food Security, Waste Management and Water body conservation, Transport and Communication, Digital and Technological Solution and Mathematical Modeling, respectively. The students from different government and private schools enthusiastically participated in the competitions to display their talent and knowledge.

The penal of judges comprised of senior educationist, Asha Richariya, YN Dwivedi, RK Bakshi and Rajeev Nanda inspected the students model and after minutely observing the students performance in different events, gave their judgements.

As per judgement, Johnson Higher Secondary School won first position in three categories of model exhibition including health and being healthy, mathematical science and transportation and resources. Pt. Lajja Shankar Jha School of Excellence won first prize in waste management model, best science club, quiz and environment song.
The students of MD Bengali Club impressed the judge with their performance in science skit.

All these competitions were organized under the direction of principal, Veena Bajpai and guidance of Dr Alekha Tiwari. The programme was conducted by Seema Mishra and Santosh Shrivastava and help with the co-operation of Upendra Yadav, Dr Poonam Tiwari, Risha Vyas, Anjana Rana, Pooja Verma, Shobhana Gautam and Jitendra Vaidya. The selected students will get the opportunity to participate in the zone-level competitions to be organized on October 30 and 31, 2017.