Confident India face stern Pakistan test today

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 15 Oct 2017 10:06:08


Oct 14,


TWO easy wins garnered, a confident India would face its toughest test in the event when it takes on arch-rivals Pakistan in the much-anticipated clash of the Asia Cup hockey tournament, here on Sunday. Rated as favourites to win the title, the Indians have been impressive so far, beating Japan and hosts Bangladesh comprehensively in their opening two Pool A matches.After beating Japan 5-1 in their opening match, the Manpreet Singh-led side mauled minnows Bangladesh 7-0 on Saturday.

Pakistan, on the other hand, have had a mixed outing so far. While they thrashed Bangladesh 7-0 in their campaign-opener, they were held to a 2-2 draw by Japan in their next match. India are currently sitting atop Pool A with six points from two wins while Pakistan are placed second with four points. With two wins, India are comfortably through to the Super 4 stage of the tournament and the Sjoerd Marine-coached side would be hoping to finish the pool stages with an all-win record.

In the first two games, the Indians have showcased beautiful one-touch hockey and used both flanks to create numerous scoring chances.What is heartening is that the Indians have scored some excellent field goals but a matter of concern for them is their penalty corner conversion rate.
Against Bangladesh India earned as many as 13 penalty corners but could make use of just two. Less than a month into his new job replacing the legendary Roelant Oltmans, Sunday’s game can be considered for coach Marijne biggest challenge of his short tenure.History suggests that any Indo-Pak hockey duel is full of not just excitement and drama but also frayed tempers.

India name 18-member team for Sultan of Johor Cup

INDIA on Saturday named an 18-member men’s junior team for the seventh Sultan of Johor Cup which begins in Johor Bahru, Malaysia from October 22.

Goalkeepers: Pankaj Kumar Rajak, Senthamizh Arasu Shankar. Defenders: Suman Beck, Pratap Lakra (vice-captain), Sukhjeet Singh, Varinder Singh, Mandeep Mor, Sanjay.
Midfielders: Harmanjit Singh, Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem, Vivek Sagar Prasad (captain), Vishal Singh, Vishal Antil.
Forwards: Shilanand Lakra, Raushan Kumar, Abhishek, Dilpreet Singh, Maninder Singh.