Chitrakoot by-election peaceful

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 10 Nov 2017 10:48:45


Staff Reporter,

Polling for Chitrakoot Assembly constituency by-election was held in peaceful manner on Thursday. The voting started with lukewarm response in the morning hours and by noon, voters began turning up at polling booths in large number to cast their votes. Over all, total voting percentage was 65.07 percent.

As many as 64.37 percent males used their voting right in the by-election of Chitrakoot Assembly constituency. The women voting percentage stood at 65.89 percent. Earlier in the day, Chief Electoral Officer, Saleena Singh informed that voting percentage till 1 pm was 33.8 percent. Speaking about innovative steps, she said that voters were acquainted with VVPAT and arrangement of wheel chairs was made to physical handicapped voters so that they should not face any kind of difficulty in reaching the polling booths.

As many as 54 wheel chairs were provided to Divyangs. A total of seven BU, 9 CU and 18 VVPAT were changed during the by-poll. In the meantime, voters of Bichian centre and Berhana centre boycotted the polling in connection with the demands related to construction of roads, schools and development works.

Later, news came that it was around 3 pm that voters of Bichian gave up their protest on the advice of Collector and SP and cast their votes. Meanwhile, the Uttar Pradesh border was sealed. Polling at all 257 polling centres remained by and large peaceful and there were tight
security arrangements at all polling centres. SMS facility was also provided to voters so that they can know their polling booth. Along with this, every voter family got one voter guide. Now, counting of votes will be done at Satna headquarters on November 12.

Notably, as many as 12 candidates, including BJP candidate Ramdayal Tripathi and Congress candidate Neelanshu Chaturvedi, are in the battlefield of Chitrakoot assembly by-poll. The by election of Chitrakoot was necessitated following the death of sitting Congress MLA Prem Singh. Now the eyes of both major political parties viz. BJP and Congress are set on November 12, when votes will be counted from 8 am onwards. Both parties have done hectic canvassing during campaigning period.