State-level Science Fair begins

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 15 Nov 2017 11:09:40


Staff Reporter,

Noted Senior Scientist and companion of former President of India Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, Dr S P Koshta will grace the concluding ceremony as chief guest. He will share his experiences while working in the field of Science and Technology

NURTURING young minds for a larger and bigger role in the society and nation-building, 30th State-level Western India Science Fair 2017-18 was inaugurated at State Institute of Science Education (SISE) on Tuesday. Sponsored by Madhya Pradesh Council of Science and Technology (MPCOST), the two-day State-level event is being organised under guidance of Venue Director Dinesh Awasthi. MLA Jabalpur East Constituency Anchal Sonkar inaugurated the event in gracious presence of Senior Scientist Dr Nipun Silawat from MPCOST, Bhopal. Presentation of Kathak classical dance by Aditi Sharma was centre of attraction during inaugural ceremony. Incharge of State-level Western India Science Fair Dr Susma Johnson briefed the gathering about different stages of Science Fair.

Earlier, after receiving their favourite chocolates at hands of SISE Director Awasthi on the occasion of Children’s Day, a big smile was seen on students’ faces. Over 100 participants including students and teachers from nine zones of the State tabled their models and projects under three categories including individual project, team projects and teachers’ projects. The nine zones included Bhopal, Jabalpur, Khandwa, Ujjain, Dewas, Rewa, Gwalior, Shahdol and Chhatarpur.
Students presented brilliant projects including production of ethanol from bamboo, mobile starter, refinary machine and

All these models and projects were judged by a panel of experts comprising Dr Jawar Singh from PDPM Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Jabalpur, Rajesh Kaurav from SPPS, Dr Meenal Rehaman from Mata Gujri, Dr MA Khan from Jawaharlal Nehru Agriculture University, Dr Harinder Maini from MH Home Science and Science Autonomous College for Women, Dr Himani Upadhyay from Hawabagh College, Dr P D Mishra from SISE, Dr Kalol Das from St Aloysius’ College and Dr Biswajeet Mukherjee from PDPM Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Jabalpur.

Those who rendered support during inaugural day event included Assistant Incharge Sunita Shrivastava, Sadhana Awasthi, Preeti Shrivastava, Sadhana Pandey, Shraddha Pathak, Jyoti Karlekar, Jyoti Tare, Samimunisha, P K Bahre, Vinod Mishra, Rajkumar Pandey and others.