‘Form panels to monitor shops under PDS in villages’

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 25 Nov 2017 11:38:04

Staff Reporter,

Chairman, State Food Commission, Rajkishore Swain on Friday directed collectors of all districts of the division to constitute village panchayat level monitoring committees to monitor ration shops being operated under Public Distribution System (PDS) in villages. Mentioning provisions of National Food Security Act he said people get legal right of acquiring food grains on reasonable rates after enforcement of the act. Depriving beneficiaries from their right would be deemed offence and guilty people would have to face consequences.

The Food Commissioner was reviewing PDS, distribution of nutritious food at Anganwadi centers, implementation of Matratva Kalyan Yojana and Mid Day Meal scheme. Swain said the Commission has been constituted for effective implementation of National Food Security Act. He said the Commission is monitoring and valuating implementation of PDS, Mid Day Meal and other concerned schemes. He asked concerned officials to ensure constitution of monitoring team within 15 days for ensuring transparent and proper implementation of PDS and others programmes being run for poor and needy people.

On the occasion, Swain said the Union and State government is providing huge subsidy for provision of food grains to poor people. He said the subsidy must be used rightly. For the same, name of eligible people must be included in the list of eligible families. He expressed displeasure over delay in transportation of food grains to ration shops. The State Food Commissioner directed concerned officials to see beneficiaries would get food grains on time. While discussing over the problems occur during reading of thumb impression of beneficiaries, He said the main object of the Government is to provide food grains to poor people. He said machines and computers are used just to maintain transparency in the system. He directed officials to also provide food grains, on the basis of record (panji) to those whose thumb impression is not read by POS machine.

Amongst those participated in the meeting were Commission Member, Durga Dabar, Snehlata Upadhyay, Gorelal Ahirwar and Veer Singh Chouhan, Divisional Commissioner, Gulshan Bamra, Collector, Mahesh Chandra Choudhary, Collectors of all the districts of the division, CEO of district panchayats and district level officers of Food department, woman and child development department, cooperative department and civil supplies department.