All eyes on RTMNU elections today

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 25 Nov 2017 08:50:17

Principal Correspondent,

The elections of Senate, Academic Council and Board of Studies of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University (RTMNU) will be held on Saturday. The fate of the candidates will be sealed in the ballot box. The result will be declared on November 27. Vidyapeeth Shikshan Manch, Young Teachers Association, Secular Panel, NUTA are the main groups contesting the election.

Because of nomination factor, though the elections have become dull, the leaders like Dr Baban Taywade, Dr Vedprakash Mishra, Dr Anil Dhage, Dr Gauri Shankar Parasher will try to retain their supremacy. Though the faces like Dr Kalpana Pande who is spearheading Shikshan Manch or Adv Abhijeet Wanjari leading Secular front are new leaders in university politics, they are well-known in their respective party politics.

It is being said that the empire of Secular will collapse in this election. But according to some experts, Dr Mishra is known for his tactics who can play his hidden cards. Nagpur University Teachers Association (NUTA) is banking on its active role in resolving teachers problem. It is confident of winning 60% to 70% seats. The Young Teachers Association has FAGA-FATA, Dr Ambedkar Teachers Organisation. Dr Baban Taywade has decentralised the campaign. Due to which Young Teachers is the group of all leaders and volunteers also. The advantage to Dr Taywade group is, the retired teachers like Dr Bharat Meghe, Dr Ashok Gomashe are working hard. It has the vibrant candidate like Dr Pradip Bute who has friends in other group also.

The Shikshan Manch seems to be stronger. Most of the people expressed that the Manch of the period of Dattaji Didolkar has re-emerged. The team under the leadership of Dr Kalpana Pande look more vibrant. They did campaigning with winning instinct. She was supported by Dr Gauri Shankar Parasher, MLC Prof Anil Sole, Prof Sanjay Dudhe, Prabhuji Deshpande

Already four candidates have won the elections unopposed from their respective categories. Chandansingh Rotele won elections from Principal category. It means now the election will be held for 9 seats of Principal category. Dr Sudhir Fulzele won unopposed from the Management category so election will be held for five seats. In Academic Council Mrs Dhurve won unopposed from Science and Technology while Vasant Rathod elected unopposed from Interdisciplinary Board.

86 centres ready to conduct polls 239 employees of university under the leadership of Registrar Puran Meshram and Deputy Registrar Dr Anil Hirekhan and Wasim Ahmed are working hard to conduct the polls successfully. The polling will be held at 86 centres. That include convocation hall too. There are 167 voters in Principal category, 194 in management council, 5,378 college teachers and 163 university teachers. The number of voters in academic council is 5,541 and in Board of Studies the number of voters is 2,046.

HC stays elections to BoS of Zoology, Chemistry

Nagpur bench of Bombay High Court, on Friday, stayed the elections for three seats of Board of Studies (BoS) in Zoology too, of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University (RTMNU). Already, the High Court has stayed elections to three seats of BoS Chemistry due to exclusion of eligible candidates from the list.

The elections to RTMNU Boards of Studies are slated on Saturday. But, with the court decision the same will be deferred at least for four weeks. The High Court stayed the elections for three seats of BoS Zoology, after hearing a petition filed by Dr Manisha Bhatkulkar, who is working as the HoD of Biology with Wadi based Jawaharlal Nehru College of Arts, Commerce and Science. The college sent her name for BoS election to RTMNU but the authorities deleted her name and included name of one A U Deore without assigning any reason.

She lodged objection to it and later filed an appeal before the Vice-Chancellor of RTMNU. After hearing all the sides, the High Court stayed elections and posted the hearing after four weeks. Adv Ashfaq Sheikh appeared for the petitioner.