RTMNU polls witness highest turn out

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 26 Nov 2017 09:41:57



Principal Correspondent,

Management category registers highest voting percentage of 97.93%

Amid fully charged-up atmosphere the elections for various bodies of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University (RTMNU) were conducted peacefully on Saturday. Competitive camps tried their level best to woo the voters -- Principals, management council members, college and university teachers. In a most positive move, the elections witnessed high turnout. The overall voting percentage registered was 94.6.

According to experts, this was the highest turnout so far. Among all the categories, the election for management representatives saw highest voters’ turnout of 97.93%. The elections were held peacefully under the able leadership of Returning Officer Puran Meshram.
The elections were conducted for 29 seats of Senate from among Principals, college teachers, university teachers, management representatives; five of Academic Council; and 156 seats of Board of Studies.

272 candidates were in the fray to test their luck from various categories. The polling was conducted from 8 am till 4 pm on Saturday. There were 168 voters in Principals category. As Chandansingh Rotele got elected unopposed, elections were held for 9 seats. In teachers category, of total 5,372 voters, 4,689 turned up to elect their 10 representatives.

Highest voting was witnessed for the elections of 5 management representatives. Out of 5,535 voters, 4,689 voters cast vote for the five seats of Academic council, The percentage of voting for the election of Board of Studies was 94.6.

Counting on Nov 27

Counting of votes will start at 10 am on Monday at Convocation hall. A total of 130 employees gave been shouldered the responsibility to count the votes. They have been divided into 13 groups.
A candidate and one of his/her representative will be allowed to enter in the convocation hall during counting
of votes. Dr Shrikant Komawar, Dr C D Deshmukh and G S Kharekar will be the Election observers. Puran Meshram will be the Chief Election officer.

239 staffers working day-in, day-out

For successful conduct of the entire election process, 239 employees are working day-in, day-out under Puran Meshram, Registrar, Dr Anil Hirekhan, Wasim Ahmed, Pradip Biniwale, Raman Madne, Shailesh Rathod, Ganesh Kumkumwar, Manish Zodape and others. Because of work load, some of the employees preferred not to go home till the end of the election process.

Stalwarts who exercised franchise

The stalwarts those visited the polling centres and exercised their franchise included First Mayor of Nagpur Kundatai Vijaykar, Dr Vedprakash Mishra, Mahesh Sadhwani, Rajendra Mulak, Prakash Gajbhiye, Rajendra Purohit, Dr Baban Taywade, Dr Anil Dhage, Col Sunil Deshpande, Adv Abhijeet Wanjari, Marotrao Kumbhalkar and others.