Congress organises Bijli Panchayat

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 27 Nov 2017 11:26:33


Staff Reporter,

In the ongoing Bijli Upbhokta Adhikar Andolan, on Sunday, a grand Bijli Panchayat having participation of affected customers with erroneous electricity bills to discuss the future course of action in the ongoing protest movement against Electricity Department led by Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee, Secretary, Saurabh Nati Sharma. The electricity consumers have shared their problems they are facing due to issuance of erroneous electricity bills of extraneous amount.

From MPCC Bhopal, Women’s Congress State President, Mandavi Singh Chouhan was specially present. Right from start of the programme, electricity consumers especially women along with there children arrived along with complaint and electricity bills. From rural areas, a large number of people, farmers, labourers and poor have joined the protest. Traders, Government officials and employees in different departments also participated in the protest movement.

Women Congress State President, Mandvi Singh Chouhan said that the Congress leader Saurabh Nati Sharma has taken initiative against the problem caused to poor public of the State due to carelessness and monitoring on the part of Electricity Department over issuance of electricity bills by contractor company of FEDCO. She declared that Congress would take up the protest movement against erroneous electricity bills at State level.

MLA, Tarun Bhanot declared to raise the issue of erroneous electricity bills in Assembly and all the Congress MLAs would raise protest inside the House. Former MLA, Lakhan Ghanghoria and Dinesh Yadav have declared that in coming phase of electricity consumer rights, the Congress would call Jabalpur Bandh on December 7, 2017.

MPCC State Secretary, Saurabh Sharma informed that erroneous extraneous electricity bills are causing trouble to people belonging to all sections. Due to this, the ongoing protest movement is gaining popularity. He said, till now, over 7,000 people have submitted their erroneous electricity bills in the Panchayat. He assured that he would talk to the higher authorities of Electricity Department and initiate efforts on correction of electricity bills.

Eminent Congress leaders who led the protest include Mandvi Singh Chouhan, Tarun Bhanot, Lakhan Ghanghoria, Dinesh Yadav, Radheshyam Choubey, Dr Alok Chansoria, Alok Mishr, Babu Sobran Singh, Jamna Maravi, Vinay Saxena, Rajesh Sonkar, Prashant Mishra, Bhure Pehalwan, Geeta Sharat Tiwari, Tahir Ali, Reena Patel, Indira Pathak Tiwari, Pankaj Pandey and others.