Young Teachers, Secular panels dominate RTMNU elections

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 28 Nov 2017 09:43:37


Principal Correspondent,

Good Show by Secular panel, only two seats for Shikshan Manch

Dr Baban Taywade led Young Teachers Association and Secular Panel guided by Dr Vedprakash Mishra retained supremacy in the elections of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University. Vidyapeeth Shikshan Manch could win only two seats.

Out of the results of 17 seats declared in early hours on Monday, Secular and Young Teachers won 8 seats and 7 seats respectively. Dr Kalpana Pande-led Shikshan Manch won two seats. The results of various categories of Senate including University Teachers (3 seats), Principal category (9 seats), Management Category (6 seats) were declared on Monday. Nagpur University Teachers Association (NUTA) which once dominated all bodies failed to win a single seat among the results declared by 7.30 pm on Monday. The results of Teachers (senate) and academic were not declared by the time this report was filed.

Though this election is not going to influence the majority in the house, it has many dimensions. Many stalwarts have made this election as their prestige issue. Some got defeated, some retained their power. Some have compensated it in different sector.

Some candidates have been declared unopposed. They include Vasant Rathod of Young Teachers Association got elected from Interdisciplinary from VJNT category, Chandansingh Rotele won from Principal (VJNT) category. Dr Sudhir Fulzele from Management Category in SC elected unopposed. Varsha Dhurve of Secular won from Science and Technology (ST) while Aasawari Durge won from Commerce and Management. She belongs to Young Teachers Association.

Couple’s win

Dr Baban Taywade and Dr Sharayu Taywade is the couple winning for the fourth consecutive time from their respective constituencies. They were the first to complete quoto in their categories. Dr Baban Taywade completed his quota in Management Category and Dr Sharayu did it in Principal Category (women).

35 years in varsity polls

Dr R G Bhoyar completed 35 years in university politics. He started his career in University politics as Senate member when he won election from NUTA group in 1987. This year he changed the group to Vidyapeeth Shikshan Manch. But stalwart like him had to struggle to register victory. He could muster the quota votes in fourth round.

Two seats is a good change: Dr Pande

Last time we could register win on only one seat. This time we won on two seats. The results of academic and senate teachers are awaited. We are hopeful of good number, pointed out Dr Kalpana Pande, who led Shikshan Manch this time.

Result of 25 years of work: Dr Taywade

Today’s result is the outcome of what we did in last 25 years. People expressed confidence on us, said Dr Baban Taywade, leader of Young Teachers Association.

Good will of people: Dr Mishra

I bow to the good will of people who has risen above all considerations and has overwhelmingly supported secular panel putting across anythig and everything. I rever this friendship of all my frirends and wellwishers who are a extended family to me. My gratitude and humble salutation for standing like a rock of Jibraltar, said Dr Vedprakash Mishra, leader of Secular panel.