BJP continues winning streak in DPC polls too

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 30 Nov 2017 14:34:31


Staff Reporter,

BJP wins 19 out of total 20 seats from NMC segment

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) registered an emphatic victory in District Planning Committee (DPC) elections by winning at least 22 out of total 25 seats from various segments. In Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) segment, BJP won 19 out of total 20 seats, and Congress could win only one.

DPC polls were held at 11 polling booths on Tuesday. On Wednesday, counting of votes began at Bachat Bhavan Sabhagruha in Collectorate premises at 10 am. Of a total 25 seats, 20 were from NMC segment, four from municipal councils segment, and one from Nagar Panchayats segment. Of 20 seats from NMC segment, six members of BJP were already elected unopposed. Out of remaining 14 seats, BJP bagged 13 and Congress could win only one seat. Though the Congress party won only one seat from NMC segment, it resulted in defeat of BJP’s Pragati Patil, a former NCP bigwig.

The six members elected unopposed from NMC segment included Vijay Chutele, Dharmpal Meshram, Gopichand Kumre, Manisha Dhawde, Vandana Yangatwar, and Pallavi Shamkule. The other 13 members of BJP who were declared winners after counting of votes on Wednesday include Vishakha Mohod (2,800 votes), Swati Akhatkar (2,800), Snehal Bihare (2,756), Jagdish Gwalbanshi (2,900), Ravindra Bhoyar (2,800), Harish Dikondwar (2,800), Narendra alias Balya Borkar (2,750), Adv Sanjaykumar Balpande (3,700), Sheshrao Gotmare (3,500), Sunil Hiranwar (3,496), Niranjana Patil (54), Vandana Bhagat (54), and Yashashri Nandanwar (110).

Zeeshan Mumtaz Ansari of Congress polled 2,703 votes and defeated BJP’s Pragati Patil. Zeeshan Mumtaz Ansari is the lone member of Congress party elected to DPC from NMC segment.

Interestingly, from NMC segment, Congress could have won two seats on the basis of its strength. However, the fact that it could win only one seat shows that cross-voting took place. In case of BJP, Pragati Patil’s defeat is believed to be a result of discontent against her candidature in DPC polls. Bahujan Samaj Party corporators stayed away from voting. From the municipal councils segment, the four members elected include Kalpana Kalambe (125 votes), Vijayalaxmi Bhadoria (134), Manohar Pathak (131), and Naresh Barve (123). Of these, Naresh Barve is a Congress member.

In Nagar Panchayats segment, Gunawant Chamate of NCP won the election through draw of lots. Chamate and his rival Rajkumar Somnathe both polled 38 votes each, following which draw of lots was conducted and Chamate proved to be lucky.