Asian Tennis Championship inaugurated amidst gathering of prominent personalities

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 07 Nov 2017 10:42:30


Sports Reporter,


‘Asian Tennis Championship-2017 Under 14 (Boys and Girls) organised under the aegis of Asian Tennis Federation and All India Tennis Association by Chhattisgarh State Tennis Association (CSTA) was inaugurated at BSP Tennis Complex, Bhilai here on Monday. Chief Executive Officer (CEO) BSP, M Ravi graced the inaugural function as Chief Guest while President CSTA, Vikram Singh Sisodia presided over the function. ED (Projects) BSP, AK Mathur; Director I/c (M&HS), Dr KN Thakur, GM, N Panda, DGM, AK Pati, Sourabh Mukherjee, President BSP Tennis Club, Treasurer, CSTA, Lawrence Santiago, Sushil Balani and others graced the occasion as special invitees.

Addressing the gathering, Chief Guest, CEO, M Ravi said, BSP has always initiated in promoting sports and this tennis complex is a live example of it.
By providing young tennis players of the region the opportunity to witness national and international matches, this complex with all its facilities should be instrumental in honing the talent of young tennis players. Tennis Academy is likely to be founded in Bhilai as the talks related to it with Bhupati Academy are in the final stage, added CEO.

Earlier, in his welcome address, Vikram Singh Sisodia, President, CSTA detailed about the Asian Tennis Tournament and requested chief guest to initiate for opening the Tennis Academy at the earliest in Bhilai. The vote of thanks was proposed by S Swaminathan, President Durg District Tennis Association.

In the matches played on the inaugural day in Boys singles Rizik Patel blanked Samvid Andhare 6-1, 6-1, Harsh Fogat beat Vivant Gupta by 6-3, 6-4, Rohan Supreneni beat Rohan Patel 6-1, 6-2, Siddarth Shrinivas beat Kushagra JAgvani by 6-1, 6-0, Nil Pillai beat Khriman Tandi by 7-6 (2), 7-6 (5) in a tough match, Siddarth Rao beat Daksh Jotwani by 6-0, 6-1 and Varun Golsupadi beat Ayush Bharadwaz by 6-0, 6-0.

Similarly, in the Girls Singles matches Sakshi Mishra beat Ananya Manchanda by 6-0, 6-1, Aarni Reddy Yelu defeated Aditri Murekar by 6-0, 6-0, Pakhi Bhatt beat Samriddhi Singh by 6-3, 6-3, and secured their berths in the next round.