Polling for Chitrakoot Assembly seat today

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 09 Nov 2017 11:31:23


Staff Reporter,

Polling for by-election of Chitrakoot Assembly seat will be done on Thursday. Tight security arrangements have been made at all polling booths to ensure fair and transparent voting, which will start from 8 am and will conclude at 5 pm.
More than 1,000 polling officials have been deputed at all 257 polling centres. As many as 382 VVPAT (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail) machines have been attached with 385 EVMs so that voters can know that their vote was cast correctly. Voters will get 7 seconds to use VVPAT.

The by-election of Chitrakoot Assembly seat has become a prestige issue for both BJP and Congress. The by-election was necessitated due to death of sitting Congress MLA Prem Singh.

In by-election of Chitrakoot, as many as 12 candidates are in fray, including BJP candidate Shankardayal Tripathi and Congress candidate Neelanshu Chaturvedi. Among the one dozen candidates, nine candidates are contesting election as independent. Nine companies of CRPF have been deployed in the constituency to ensure free and fair polling and to handle the security related situation.

The outcome of Chitrakoot Assembly by-election will have an impact on political equations in State. The voting trend is going to decide the fate of candidates. Chitrakoot has more than 1.98 lakh voters and they are going to choose that who should represent the constituency.