National Softball: Chhattisgarh becomes champion for 4th time

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 31 Dec 2017 12:02:52

Sports Reporter,


Dec 30,

Chhattisgarh boys emerged as national champion for fourth time in a row by winning the 39th Senior National Softball Championship, organised at Duttapulia in West Bengal from December 25 to 30. State team defeated Madhya Pradesh in a one side match by 6-1.

Deepak, Biru, Kishan and Hitesh excelled in the victory of Chhattisgarh. Other players in the team were V Mohan, Sunil, Ashish, Sarang, Bhupendra, Chandan Kanwar, Chandan Tandi, Jayesh, Naresh, Inendra, Prince, Vishwanath, Suraj and Jagdish. Coaches of the team were Amit Varu, Devendra Singh while managers were Chandrashekhar.

In the league stage, Chhattisgarh defeated Rajasthan, Chandigarh and Himachal Pradesh. In knock-out stage, Chhattisgarh defeated Delhi and in super league matches, Chhattisgarh defeated Himachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh. In semi final, Chhattisgarh defeated Punjab followed by the team defeated Maharashtra in pre-final match and defeated Madhya Pradesh in final.