Chhetri’s record-breaking strike denies Aizawl full points

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 16 Feb 2017 09:12:03


Feb 15,


BENGALURU FC skipper Sunil Chettri’s record-breaking strike denied Aizawl FC full points as the much-anticipated Hero I-League match ended in a 1-1 draw here on Wednesday.
Both goals were scored in the first half, within a span of five minutes.
Brandon Vanlalremdika scored in the 40th minute while Chhetri (45th) cancelled the home team’s lead at the stroke of half-time.

Chhetri received the ball and shot it straight into the top corner of the box from about 30 yards away.
The goal added another feather in the talismanic striker’s hat as he leapfrogged Baichung Bhutia to score the most number of goals combining NFL and I-League. Bhutia had enjoyed the joint lead with 89 goals.

Aizawl FC looked the better team in the first half with three shots on target while the away team had a single shot on target. Away keeper Amrinder Singh also saved his team in the 32nd minute when he successfully blocked a powerful shot by Alfred Jaryan moments after Al-Amna’s header hit the bar.

In the second half, in front of a packed ground, Bengaluru FC missed their chance to lead in the 55th minute when Chhetri stepped up to take the penalty which was punched away by Aizawl FC keeper Albino Gomes.

Minerva, DSK play out goalless draw MINERVA Punjab Football Club and DSK Shivajians FC played out a hard-fought goalless draw in a fast paced I-League clash at the Guru Nanak Stadium in Ludhiana.

Bagan held by Mumbai MOHUN Bagan threw away a chance to close the gap on arch-rivals East Bengal at the top of the table as they played out their second consecutive goalless draw against Mumbai FC at the Cooperage Stadium in Mumbai.

East Bengal, Shillong Lajong share points A listless East Bengal dropped crucial points as they were held to a 1-1 draw by Shillong Lajong in the I-League football fixture at the Kanchenjunga Stadium.

Fresh from their goalless stalemate in the derby against Mohun Bagan, East Bengal were forced to play a catch-up game after Shillong’s Samuel Lalmuanpuia drew the first blood in the 20th minute. Willis Plaza headed past Vishal Kaith to equalise for East Bengal in the 45th minute.