Amravati, Akola get new Mayors

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 10 Mar 2017 10:31:05

Amravati Bureau,


Mar 9,

Sanjay Narwane elected 15th Mayor of Amravati

Sandhya Tikale elected Deputy Mayor

SANJAY Narwane of the Bharatiya Janata Party has been elected as the 15th Mayor of Amravati City. Elections took place at late Sudamkaka Deshmukh Memorial Auditorium of the Amravati Municipal Corporation on Thursday. Sandhya Tikale, party’s candidate, also got elected as Deputy Mayor.

Narwane defeated his nearest rival Shobha Shinde, a Congress Party nominee by a huge margin of 41 votes. Sanjay Narwane polled 56 votes. As against that Shobha Shinde managed to get only 15. Sandhya Tikale also defeated Abdul Wasim Majid of Congress Party by the same margin in a triangular contest. Sandhya Tikale got 56 votes up against 15 to Abdul Wasim Majid Hussain of Congress and 10 to Afzal Hussain Mubarak Hussain of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen.

In the 87-member house, BJP had its own 45 members. It has the support of Yuva Swabhiman Party having 3 members and RPI (A) having one member to form the front. BJP’s candidates also got support of Shiv-Sena that has 7 members.
Kiran Gitte and other officials, present for the election process, congratulated Sanjay Narwane and Sandhya Tikale by presenting bouquets.

Later in the day, the new Mayor Sanjay Narwane presided over the first meeting of newly elected members. In the meeting, names of 16 members of Standing Committee, nominated by the respective parties as per their tallies in the house, were announced. Of these, 9 are from BJP that nominated Tushar Bhartiya, Vivek Kaloti, Baldev Bajaj, Ganga Ambhore, Ashish Atkare, Suchita Bire, Sapana Thakur, Chandrakant Bomare and Madhuri Thakare; 3 from the Congress Party that nominated Shobha Shinde, Manjushree Mahalle and Hafijabi Yusuf Shah; 2 from All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen that nominated Imran Mohmmad Abdul Saeed and Sayyed Najmunnisa Mehmood; BSP’s Irshad Bano Mannan Khan and Shiv-Sena’s Lalit Zanzal are also in the committee. The announcement for the names of co-opted members, however, was kept on hold.

Sunil Kale of BJP has been appointed as the Leader of ruling party in the house while Bablu Shekhawat of Congress has been appointed as the Leader of Opposition. Prashant Wankhade, senior leader from Shiv-Sena has been appointed as the Shiv-Sena Group leader, Abdul Najim Rauf from All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen while Chetan Pawar, senior leader has been appointed as the BSP Group Leader. The announcement was made by Mayor Sanjay Narwane. All BJP Corporators attended the meeting in saffron turbans.

Pravin Pote, Guardian Minister of the district, Sunil Deshmukh, MLA, who spearheaded the AMC election campaign also reached AMC during the election process and congratulated Sanjay Narwane and Sandhya Tikale. BJP leaders including Jayant Dehankar, City President, Shivrai Kulkarni, Milind Chimote, former Mayor and hundreds of activists were prominantly present to congratlated Narwane and Tikale. BJP celebrated the victory by distributing sweets, sprinkling ‘gulal’, dancing on the tunes of ‘Tashas’ and by bursting crackers. A victory rally was also taken out later in the city in which hundreds of activists participated.