Sandeep Jadhav elected Chairman of NMC’s Standing Committee

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 12 Mar 2017 10:08:00

Special Correspondent,

Sandeep Jadhav, senior corporator and former Deputy Mayor, was elected unopposed as Chairman of Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) Standing Committee on Saturday. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Sandeep Jadhav got support of 12 members out of 16 members of the Standing Committee. So far, Congress does not have any representation on Standing Committee while Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has one member.

Thanking all the leaders of the party for giving him the responsibility as Chairman of Standing Committee, Sandeep Jadhav assured to work hard to improve the financial condition of the local body in his tenure. “We will make Nagpur as ‘Number One’ city of the country,” he emphasised.

Sachin Kurve, District Collector, was the election officer, while Harish Dube, Secretary of NMC, assisted him. Dr Ramnath Sonwane, Additional Commissioner, also was present on the occasion. Jadhav submitted his nomination papers to Dube. As no other nomination papers were filed, Kurve declared him as elected unopposed to the coveted post of Chairman of Standing Committee. Nanda Jichkar, Mayor; Sudhakar Kohle, MLA and City President of BJP; Sudhakar Deshmukh, MLA; and Sudhir alias Bandu Raut, former Chairman of Standing Committee, welcomed him in the chamber of Standing Committee chief.

In a function held on the lawns in the premises of NMC’s office in Civil Lines, Sudhakar Kohle appealed to the office-bearers of NMC to give priority to development works in the city. No need to worry about pathetic financial condition of the local body, he said. Till NMC’s financial condition improves, Maharashtra and Central Governments will provide ample funds for development of the city. “We all have to work to make Nagpur as ‘Number One’ city of the country with the help of Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Union Minister Nitin Gadkari,” he said. The party has given Jadhav a big responsibility to work towards fulfilling their dream, he added.

Addressing the gathering, Nanda Jichkar said that Jadhav had an experience of both the sides -- administration as well as elected representative. “He has to make local body financially independent so that we can initiate various developmental works in the city under the guidance of leaders,” she said. Sudhakar Deshmukh and Sudhir Raut also wished Jadhav a ‘great inning’ in NMC.

Legislators Krishna Khopde, Dr Milind Mane, Girish Vyas; Deepraj Pardikar, Deputy Mayor; Sandip Joshi, Ruling Party Leader in NMC; Dayashankar Tiwari, former Ruling Party Leader; Sangita Sandeep Jadhav, Bhushan Shingne, Narendra Borkar, Subhash Pardhi, Jaiprakash Gupta, Nishant Gandhi, Dharampal Meshram, and Brijbhushan Shukla were present prominently on the occasion apart from party workers and office-bearers.