N Biren Singh sworn-in as first BJP CM of Manipur

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 16 Mar 2017 08:36:16


Mar 15,


N BIREN Singh was on Wednesday sworn-in as the Chief Minister of the first-ever Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led Government in Manipur after the Assembly election threw up a hung House.

Governor Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to Singh at a function in Raj Bhavan here.
Eight other ministers from the BJP and its alliance partners also took oath along with the Chief Minister. Y Joykumar of NPP has been designated as the Deputy Chief Minister.
The other ministers are Th Biswajit Singh of BJP, L Jayantakumar Singh, L Haokip and N Kayisii of National People’s Party, L Dikho of Naga People’s Front and Karam Shyam of LJP.

TH Shyamkumar, a Congress MLA who defected to the BJP, was also sworn-in.
BJP General Secretary Ram Madhav and Assam Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma were present at the swearing-in ceremony among others.

Outgoing Chief Minister Ibobi Singh was also present.BJP President Amit Shah and Union minister M Venkaiah Naidu, who were scheduled to attend the function, could not arrive here as the aircraft they were travelling in suffered an engine problem mid-air prompting the pilot to return to Delhi. Heptulla had on Tuesday invited Biren Singh, who was unanimously elected the leader of the 21-member BJP Legislature Party, to form the Government.