Cong, NCP, SS join hands

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 20 Mar 2017 10:37:04

Amravati Bureau,


Mar 19,

Congress, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Shiv Sena and two Independent members have joined hands for the election of Amravati Zilla Parishad (ZP) President and Vice-President to be held on March 21. The decision in this regard was announced in the meeting held on Sunday. As per power-sharing formula, Congress will get the key post of President while Shiv Sena will get Vice-President’s post. The Shiv -Sena’s decision is considered as a major jolt for BJP, which also tried to get the majority number in the House.

In the election for the 59 seats of Amravati ZP on February 21, Congress emerged as the single largest party with 26 seats adding one more seat in its previous tally and one more from its alliance partner RPI (A). While BJP could bag only 13 seats to remain on the second place. Shiv Sena has secured 3 seats, NCP 5, Prahar Sanghatana 5, Yuva Swabhiman Party 2, BSP 1, Swabhiman Shetkari Sanghatana 1 and Independent 1.

However, Congress despite being close to majority was struggling to get the required number while BJP was also trying hard to take other parties and independent together to raise its flag on Zilla Parishad. This also forced Congress to take Shiv-Sena, NCP and independent candidates together. Congress with the support from 3 members of Shiv Sena, 2 out of 5 from NCP and 2 from independent has took the tally to 34 in the house and the party is likely to get the power on March 21.

In the meeting between prominent leaders of Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress agreed over power sharing but there was some difference in NCP as only 2 out of 5 from Harshawardhan Deshmukh camp have decided to join power along with Congress party while remaining 3 from Rajkumar Patel, Ex-MLA group, are still to take any decision. As per decision taken in the meeting, Congress will get president’s post while Shiv Sena will get vice-president’s post. Harshawardhan Deshmukh, NCP leader and former Minister, Sunil Warhade, District President of NCP, Aniruddha alias Bablu Deshmukh, District President of Congress Party, Virendra Jagtap, MLA, Adv Yashomati Thakur, MLA, Kewalram Kale, Ex-MLA, Sanjay Band, former SS MLA, Rajesh Wankhade, Prof. Prashant Wankhade, all the District Presidents, Dinesh Wankhade were present.