BSP Cricket team emerge champs

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 05 Mar 2017 10:27:40

Sports Reporter,


Mar 4,

The BSP team whitewashed Tata Steel Plant with 64 runs in the final match of Inter Steel Plant Cricket Tournament, recently held at Jamshedpur (Jharkhand) and emerged as the winner of the tourney.

Total 9 teams representing different steel plants were participated in this tourney. It needs a mention here that by defeating Vizag Steel Plant and Bokaro Steel Plant in the league matches and JSW (Bellary) in the semifinal match, BSP team entered in finals of the championship.

While batting first BSP team managed to put a total score of 147 runs in the stipulated 20 overs with the loss of 6 wickets against Tata Steel Plant in the final match. Yogesh Sahu scored 41 runs with the help of 3 fours and 3 sixes, Sangeet Soni and Shubham Singh have contributed 27 runs and 20 runs for BSP team. In reply, Tata Steel Plant scored only 83 runs and got all-out, where Yogesh Sahu scalped 5 wickets, Vedant Vaishnav and Gaurav Tandon both have claimed two-two wickets for BSP team. Yogesh Sahu was adjudged as the man of the match in final match.

BSP team includes K Rajgopalan as Captain, Raja Benarjee as Coach and Uttam Dey as Team Manager.
While expressing his contentment Coach, Raja Benarjee pointed that from the beginning of tourney, players from BSP team have demonstrated their best performance in Batting, Bowling and Fielding and the momentum was same till the final match. On this achievement, MK Barman, ED (P&A), Rajiv Menon, DGM (SC&CA), Rajendra Prasad, Senior Manager (SC&CA), SR Jakhad, Senior Manager (SC&CA), SL Yadav, DM (SC&CA), Jahur Ahmed DM (P&A) and others have congratulated the team members and extended their best wishes.