Stage set for Nanda Jichkar’s election as 52nd Mayor today

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 05 Mar 2017 09:54:23

Special Correspondent,

Deepraj Pardikar to be elected Deputy Mayor

The stage is all set for the election of senior corporator of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Nanda Jichkar as new Mayor of the city, in a special general body meeting slated on Sunday at 10 am at Town Hall in Mahal. Sachin Kurve, District Collector, will chair the process for elections of Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

BJP has declared Jichkar as its Mayoral candidate while Deepraj Pardikar is set to be elected as Deputy Mayor. Congress candidate Sneha Nikose and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Vandana Chandekar also are contesting the election for the coveted post of Mayor.
The election of Nanda Jichkar as 52nd Mayor of the city, and Deepraj Pardikar as Deputy Mayor, is just a formality as BJP has absolute majority with 108 members in the House of 151 members. Congress candidate Nitish Gwalbanshi and BSP candidate Narendra Walde also are contesting election for the
post of Deputy Mayor. Congress has 28 members (after resignation of Gargi Chopra) while BSP has 10 members in the House.

The general body will also elect 16 members for Standing Committee. BJP will have 12 members in the committee while Congress will have three, and BSP will have one member in the committee. Already, BJP has declared its former Deputy Mayor Sandeep Jadhav as Chairman of Standing Committee for this term. The party has given responsibility of Group Leader to senior corporator Sandip Joshi.

BJP’s has given proper positions to all leading social segments particularly in view of Maratha reservation demand raised in the State in the recent past. Political observers say that BJP has adopted social engineering to give representation to all communities.

Jichkar belongs to influential Kunbi community while Jadhav belongs to backward classes and was working with NMC before joining BJP to become Deputy Mayor in the last regime. Pardikar, a Halba, is closely associated with RSS and has been elected from Halba-dominated Central Nagpur. Joshi is a known face of BJP and is close aide of Devendra Fadnavis, Chief Minister. Joshi’s father late Diwakarrao Joshi was MLC from Teachers’ Constituency. This formula may also work in Lok Sabha and State Legislative Assembly elections slated after two years, in 2019.

Nanda Jichkar has been elected as corporator from Prabhag-37. She represents Chief Minister’s constituency while Deepraj Pardikar represents Prabhag-20 in Central Nagpur constituency. Sandeep Jadhav represents Prabhag-11 of West Nagpur constituency while Sandip Joshi represents Prabhag-16 in South-West Nagpur constituency.

Meanwhile, in another development, BSP has nominated Mohd Jamal as its Group Leader in NMC.