BJP nominates Sanjay Narawane as Amravati Mayor

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 06 Mar 2017 10:36:16

Amravati Bureau,


Mar 5,

Finally, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ended suspense over its candidates for the post of Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Group Leader and Chairman of Standing Committee in the marathon meeting with core committee members that started on Sunday morning and lasted till the evening.

The party declared the mame of Sanjay Narawane for Mayor’s post that is reserved for SC candidate, and Sandhya Tikale’s name for Deputy Mayor’s post. Both the candidates filed their nominations on Sunday, the last day of filing papers. However, the election for key posts to be held on March 9 is just a formality as BJP has absolute majority with 45 members in the 87-member House.

Meanwhile, Congress has also decided to contest the election for the post of Mayor and Deputy Mayor to show their presence in the house. Shobha Shinde filed her nomination for the post of Mayor while Bablu Shekhawat, former leader of the House, and Abdul Wasim Abdul Majid, filed their nomination form for the post of Deputy Mayor. Interestingly, Afzal Hussain Mubarak Hussain of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen has also filed his nomination for Deputy Mayor’s post to make it triangular contest. Sanjay Narawane is believed to be close associate of MLA Dr Sunil Deshmukh while Sandhya Tikale is a senior leader of the party.

BJP has nominated Tikale as Deputy Mayor while Tushar Bharatiya, former City President, has been selected to head the important Standing Committee. The BJP has given responsibility of group leader to Sunil Kale, who joined BJP just before election. Vivek Kaloti has been declared as Deputy Group Leader.

“Although BJP has clear majority in the AMC, it has decided to joins hand with like-minded parties including Shiv Sena (having 7 members) and Yuva Swabhiman Party ( having 3 members). Decision on power sharing is yet to decided, it is expected to be fianalised before March 9,” informed Jayant Dehankar, City President of BJP.

The nominations of Sanjay Narawane and Sandhya Tikale were submitted to Madan Tambekar, Secretary of Amravati Municipal Corporation and Assistant Election Officer on Sunday. Tushar Bhartiya, Kiran Paturkar, Sunil Kale, Shivrai Kulkarni, State Spokesman, Jayant Dehankar, City President, Surekha Lungare, Ajay Saraskar, Vivek Kaloti and others were prominently present while submitting the nominations. Both Mayor and Deputy Mayor from BJP will be elected for the term of 15 months. Sunil Kale and Dhiraj Hiwase proposed and seconded the candidature of Narawane while Surekha Lungare and Lavina Harshe proposed the seconded the candidature of Tikale. Notably, Narawane has been elected from Prabhag 6 while Tikale is representing Prabhag 10.

It may be mentioned that marathon meeting conducted by Chainsukh Sancheti, MLC and Party Observer for the election; Ramdas Ambatkar, State General Secretary of the party; and Dr Upendra Kothekar, Western Vidarbha Chief of the party; with Core Committee members at Circuit House on Sunday lasted till the evening. The BJP leaders conducted independent meeting with the members of election core committee and took their opinion about the posts.

After the separate meetings, collective meeting was called around 6 p.m. while took place till late.
The leaders also held another meeting after the announcement of candidates for key posts.
Pravin Pote, Guardian Minister of Amravati district, Dr Sunil Deshmukh, Jayant Dehankar, Dr Pradip Shingore, Shivrai Kulkarni, Prof Ravindra Khandekar, Kiran Paturkar, Tushar Bharatiya and others were prominently present at the meeting.