CAs should work as guide for PMGKY: Battini

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 08 Mar 2017 09:29:08

Business Bureau,

Every citizen is going to be affected because of this year’s Budget which has been presented after the demonetisation and therefore it is the responsibility of CA fraternity to educate people about the requirements of PMGKY, said Suresh Battini, Commissioner of Income Tax, Director of Investigation, while speaking as chief guest at the seminar on Finance Bill- 2017 organised by ICAI, Nagpur branch.

Addressing the gathering of more than 500 CAs, Battini said that the assessees who had undisclosed income should come forward and take guidance from CAs and suo moto declare income under the PMGKY, which would save them from unnecessary harassment. He said, “CAs are the nation’s best financial brains and this is the supreme moment for implementation of Budget provisions after demonetisation.” He appealed all the assessees to avail the last chance to come clean by declaring income in PMGKY scheme open till March 31, 2017.

Earlier, newly-elected Chairman of Nagpur Branch of ICAI, CA Sandeep Jotwani welcomed all the members and said that provisions of Finance Bill affects the professional area of all CAs, be at capital market, taxation, industry etc. A lot is expected from CAs being experts in this field. CA Abhijit Kelkar, RCM congratulated the new team for organising the seminar.

CA Girish Ahuja from New Delhi deliberated on direct tax proposals, CA Vinayak Govilkar from Nashik deliberated on impact of Union Budget on economy and CA Brijesh Verma from Agra deliberated on indirect tax proposals. The technical sessions were chaired by CA Julfesh Shah, Past RCM and CA Milind Patel, Past Chairman.

CA Kirit Kalyani, Treasurer, CA Umang Agrawal, Vice- Chairman and CA Jitendra Saglani, managing committee member co-ordinated the sessions. CA Suren Duragkar, Secretary proposed the vote of thanks.Presents were CA Swapnil Ghate, IPC, CA Saket Bagdia, WICASA Chairman, CA Sanjay Agrawal, CA Jaydeep Shah, Past President of ICAI, CA Rajesh Loya, CA Anirudha Shenwai, CA O S Bagdia, CA Kailash Jogani, CA Satish Sarda, CA Swapnil Agrawal and others.