Final phase of Manipur polls today

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 08 Mar 2017 08:26:11


Mar 07,


THE second and final phase of Manipur elections will be held in 22 Assembly constituencies on Wednesday. The voting will be done from 0700 to 1500 hours.
Polling officials and security personnel have reached their assigned polling stations.

Fates of Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, Human Rights activist Irom Sharmila, Okram Surja Kumar, son of Singh, will be decided on Wednesday.
A total of 98 candidates, including four women, are in the fray.

The candidates include 22 each of Congress and BJP, two CPI, six Trinamool Congress, one NCP, 12 recognised state political parties’ candidates, 24 registered but unrecognised parties’ candidates and 24 independent candidates.