Aseemanand, 6 others acquitted, 3 convicted in Ajmer blast case

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 09 Mar 2017 08:59:45


Mar 8,



The 2007 blast in Ajmer shrine had left three pilgrims dead and 15 others injured The quantum of sentence for the three convicts will be announced on 16th

RIGHT-WING activist Swami Aseemanand was on Wednesday acquitted along with six others in the 2007 Ajmer blast case by a special court here, which convicted three others.

Judge Dinesh Gupta let off Swami Aseemanand and six others giving them “benefit of doubt”.

Devendra Gupta, Bhavesh Patel and Sunil Joshi were convicted under various sections of IPC, Explosive Substances Act and Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA) for the bomb attack, which had left three pilgrims dead and 15 others injured. Joshi was murdered in December 2007. The quantum of sentence will be announced on March 16, defence counsel Jagdish Rana told reporters. Among those acquitted were Harshad Solanki, Lokesh Sharma, Mehul Kumar, Mukesh Vasani, Bharat Bhai and Chandrashekar, he said, adding Chandrashekhar is out on bail while others are in judicial custody. “The conviction was made under section 120 (B)(Criminal conspiracy), 295-A (Deliberate and malicious acts intended to outrage religious feelings of any class by insulting its religion or religious beliefs) of IPC, Explosive Substances Act and Prevention of Unlawful Activities Act,” Rana said.

Swami Aseemanand is an accused in the 2007 Samjhauta Express blast case. A total of 68 people were killed in the blasts in two coaches of Samjhauta Express train near in Panipat on February 18, 2007.