‘Journalism is soul of democracy’

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 15 May 2017 11:38:54

Staff Reporter,

“JOURNALISM is the soul of democracy. It has strength to bring all the changes in the society. But it should be in real spirit for the well being of humanity and in favour of nation. Maharishi Narad is the inspiration for whole fraternity of Journalism to establish values, ethics for the virtue of truth, integrity and patriotism”, said Prem Shukla, National Spokesperson of Bharatiya Janata Party and former Editor of Samana, Key Note Speaker of the Maharishi Narad Patrakarita Puruskar Samaroh organised by Vishwa Samvad Kendra, on Sunday.

Dr Govind Mishra, former Vice-Chancellor of Veterinary University presided over the programme while Dr Kapil Deo Mishra, Vice-Chancellor of Rani Durgavati University, RSS Prant Pracharak Shreerang Raje, eminent residents of city graced the occasion. Senior Journalist Prem Shukla further highlighted the issues making adverse impact on role of media in nation building. He said there are foreign forces that try to drive issues related to national interest from outside using money-minded people who are involved in media. He further made a call to the journalists to work for the well being of humanity and nation building.

“Path shown by Maharishi Narad should be followed by Journalists as it has code of conduct and ethics to work keeping nation and public welfare first”, said Shukla.
Programme President Dr Govind Mishra, former Vice-Chancellor of Veterinary University describing journalism in India as written history from pre-independence era to post independence expressed concern on declining values in Journalism following involvement of money. He also highlighted the importance and values incepted by Maharishi Narad in journalism.

Yatish Jain convened the programme, while Mahanagar Prachar Pramukh, RSS Shrinivas Rao gave introduction of guests and enlighten views on objectives of the program.

Journalists were honoured with Maharishi Narad Patrakarita Puruskar for their outstanding work in the field of journalism. In print media section, Puruskar conferred upon Shailendra Thakur of Acharan, Sagar, Sachin Tripathi of MP Jansandesh, Satna and Pankaj Tiwari of Nai Duniya, Jabalpur.

In electronic media Maharishi Narad Patrakarita Puruskar winners are Rajesh Vishwakarma and Virendra Sharma of India News, Vijayendra Pande and Satish Sarathe of IBC and Vyakatesh Kori of News Hathway. In Photojournalism category, winners are Ashish Rajput of The Hitavada, Vinesh Singh of Nai Duniya and Vijay Soni of Dabag Dunia newspaper. The programme concluded with vote of thanks proposed by Manoj Kushwaha of Vishwa Samvad Kendra.