NCP stages demos over delay in tur dal purchase from ryots

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 18 May 2017 10:28:48

Staff Reporter,

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Vidarbha Kastakar Sanghatana staged demonstration against Maharashtra Government’s clause approach towards farmers’ plight and not for purchasing Tur dal. NCP workers on Wednesday, under the leadership of Nationalist Youth Congress Salil Deshmukh took out a rally and submitted a memorandum to tehsildar. Earlier, they staged gherao of tehsil office.

Despite Central Government granting extension of 10 days for purchase of Tur dal, Maharashtra Government failed to make purchases from the farmers and showing reluctance to give proper support price to the growers.

Salil Deshmukh said, for last two years, rates of Tur have increased and once it touched Rs 200 per kg mark. The rates were increased because of less production and less cultivation of Tur in the State. Government of Maharashtra, therefore, had appealed farmers to increase cultivation and grow Tur dal. Then, the government had provided free seeds and assured the farmers to purchase Tur dal ad support price. Now, when there is bumper production of tur dal, the government is delaying purchase of Tur dal from farmers. Further, he said, the government has resorted to avoid the procurement citing various reasons.

As the government has not purchased tur dal from the farmers, traders have started exploiting the distressed growers by providing nominal rates to tur dal stock. On March 30, the rate of Tur dal was Rs 4,351 per quintal and the prices came down to Rs 4,151 per quintal by April 13. The traders have slashed the tur price further to Rs 3,900 per quintal and again to Rs 3,400 per quintal. The current market price offered by traders is almost Rs 1,600 less as against the government’s last support price of Rs Rs 5,050 per quintal, he said. State Government should resume Tur dal purchase from farmers, else the agitation will be intensified, he warned.

Market Committee Chairman, Babanrao Lohe, City President Sanjay Charde, Tehsil President, Naresh Adsare, Anil Sathwane, Gopla Khandate, Satish Rewatkar, Suresh Tatade, Prakash Tekade, Ramdas Zade, Jhakir Sheikh, Harikant Malode, Sachin Charde, Anil Gajbe, Suresh Rewatkar, Manish Kene, Nandu Mowade, Rudragran, Vaibhav Dalvi, Atul Pethe and others participated in the demonstration.