Nmc to continue river cleanliness drive till May 31

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 18 May 2017 10:13:35

Staff Reporter,

Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) will continue Nag River, Pili River and Pora River cleaning drive till May 31. Mayor Nanda Jichkar, Ruling Party leader Sandip Joshi will take review of the drive on Thursday.

The drive was initiated on April 17. In last one month, the civic body claimed to have desilted 70,000 metric tonnes soil from the rivers. The Health Department desilted 17,000 metric tonnes from Nag River, 18,000 metric tonnes from Pili River and 7,000 metric tonnes from Pora river. Almost 42 kilometer stretch of the rivers has been desilted so far, claimed NMC. This is annual exercise undertaken by the civic body before onset of monsoon to rule out water logging and for smoothly flushing out rain waters. However, as compared to previous years, the drive seems to have lost its steem midway as despite appeals, very few voluntary organisations came forward to clean rivers and most internal nullahs are yet to be cleaned.

The civic body has divided rivers into 10 different stretches. Chief Engineer Ulhas Debadwar is the chief of the project while Executive Engineers, Zonal Officers, Deputy Engineers, and Junior Engineers are the team members. The department has deployed 13 poclain, 4 JCBs and 8 tippers to lift the soil.
Additional Commissioners Dr Ramnath Sonwane, Dr. Rizwan Siddique, and Ravindra Kumbhare are monitoring Nag River, Pili River and Pora River desilting work.

Meanwhile, Deputy Mayor Deepraj Pardikar visited Gaddigodam, Panchpaoli on Wednesday to clean nullahs.
The sewer line of Gaddigodam slaughter house was choked for last some days causing problem to nearby citizens. Deputy Mayor blasted officials for not cleaning the nullah on the complaint filed by the citizens.

He also directed to appoint anesthetist in Panchpaoli and Gaddigodam Maternity Home. Health Committee Chairman Manoj Chafle also directed to prepare proposal for the appointment of doctors. Dr. Gajendra Mahalle, Rohidas Rathod, Dharmendra Patil, Bhushan Gajbhiye were present during inspection.