President presents National Film Awards

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 04 May 2017 09:04:39


Filmmaker and actor K Viswanath gets Dadasaheb Phalke award

PRESIDENT Pranab Mukherjee on Wednesday presented the National Film Awards to this year’s winners who included Bollywood star Akshay Kumar (best actor) and Rajesh Mapuskar (best director) as well as the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke to renowned filmmaker and actor K Viswanath.

“Indian cinema and its diversity conveys the underlying spirit of brotherhood, tolerance, acceptance and co-existence. The inherent strength of unity in spite of diversity was our cultural heritage which was inherited through ages,” Mukherjee said during the ceremony.

Viswanath became the 48th recipient of the Dadasaheb Phalke award, the highest recognition in Indian cinema, which consists of a golden lotus, a citation, cash prize of Rs 10 lakh and a shawl.
Akshay was honoured for his portrayal of a patriotic naval officer in “Rustom”. He received the Rajat Kamal and Rs 50,000.

C M Surabhi was given the best actress award for her role in the Malayalam film “Minnaminungu-The Firefly”. She received the Rajat Kamal and Rs 50,000.
“Neerja”, directed by Ram Madhvani, was awarded the best Hindi film. “Neerja” star Sonam Kapoor received a special mention for her role in the film.

Amitabh Bachchan-starrer “Pink”, a female-centric court room drama, won the award for best film on social issues.
Marathi movie “Kasaav” led the regional cinema dominance bagging the best feature film honour and was awarded the Swarna Kamal and Rs 2,50,000 each to the director and producer.

Kashmiri actress Zaira Wasim was given the best supporting actress award for her role in the Aamir Khan- starrer “Dangal”, while Nagesh Kukunoor’s “Dhanak” was honoured as the best children’s film.

Ajay Devgn’s “Shivaay” won the special effects award.
Mapuskar took home the best director award for his film “Ventilator” and was given the Swarna Kamal and Rs 2,50,000. The movie, produced by actress Priyanka Chopra and her mother Madhu, won three awards.

“Ventilator” also won the best editing and the best final mixed track award. The best adapted screenplay went to “Dashakriya”, which was honoured as the best Marathi film, while its star Manoj Joshi was given the best supporting actor award. Malayalam film “Maheshinte Prathikooram” won the best original screenplay award and the best dialogues went to Telugu movie “Peli Chuplu”.

The best child artist award was shared by Adhish Praveen,
Nur Islam, Saimul Alam and Manohara K.