Electrical contractors condemn new ruling of Public Works Deptt

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 08 May 2017 11:22:18

■ Business Bureau,

THE Electircal Contractors Association, Nagpur are protesting against Government Resoultion dated April 12, 2017 published by Public Workds Department, Government of Maharashtra.The executive body and members of the Association met Divisional Commissioner, District Collector, Chief Engineer of PWED and Superintending Engineer (Electrical), Nagpur and submitted a representation regarding new Government Resoultion highlighting various issues. PW Deparrtment has decided to cancel the registration which was since 97 years.

The work will be awarded as per the financial and work done capacity of the contractors due to which the registered small contractors, unemployed engineers and labour societies will be in deep trouble. India is going 100 per cent towards the digitaisation movement. However, the PW Department wants hard copy of the tender after e-submission i.e after locking the bid, which may leads to malpractices and injustice to genuine contractors.

The turnover of the contractor should be 75 per cent and single work done by a contractor should be 50 per cent of the amount of work to be done due to this the small local contractors will be out of bid and big contractors from other states will enter.

This will create hardship to local contractors and their condition will be like farmers. No price escalation will be paid to the contractor if 100 per cent fund allocation on work. However, escalation is necessary due to the fluctuation in the marker prices and it is not depend on 100 per cent fund availability. Due to above conditions mose of the bids will be in favour of big contractors and small contractors, unemployed engineers and labour societies will also face problem.

After giving patient hearing the District Collector has promised to convey the feeling of contractors to the Government. Present were Sharad Duragkar, President of Association, Sachin Sawalkar, Secretary, Ashok ijare, Sunil Ulhe, Govind Dehedkar, T K Ghosh, Pradeep Deshmukh, Krishna Lule, Vijay Karemore, Arun Rindhe, Deepesh Jain, Anil Manpure, Dewa Dhore, Praful Mohod, Sanjay Karangle, Jitendra Charde, Rajesh Panjwani and others in large numbers.