NMC’s new Transport Committee formed

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 09 May 2017 11:28:16

Staff Reporter

The general body meeting of Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) constituted the new Transport Committee with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) deciding to hand over its reins to Jitendra alias Bunty Kukde. A first timer to civic body, Kukde was active with Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM), and represents the Shrikrishna Nagar Prabhag, a part of which falls in East as well as South Nagpur assembly segments. From BJP nine corporators were nominated while Congress bench named two of its members while from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) only one was nominated.

The Transport Committee will have as members - Pravin Bhisikar, Abhiruchi Rajgire, Archana Pathak, Ujwala Sharma, Manisha Dhawde, Vidya Madavi, Vaishali Rohankar and Kalpana Kumbhalkar (all BJP), Nitin Gwalbanshi and Nitin Sathawne from Congress and from BSP Narendra Walde. Standing Committee Chairman Sandeep Jadhav will be ex-officio member.

Similarly Weaker Sections Committee too was constituted and here BJP has hand-picked Mahendra Dhanvijay to head it. The nominations were voted by the House unanimously. The members nominated are Nagesh Mankar, Shakuntala Parwe, Sunil Bondre, Leena Hatibed, Niranjan Patil, Shilpa Dhote and Naseem Bano Khan (from BJP), Ujwala Bankar and Parasram Manwatkar from Congress and from BSP Jitendra Ghodeshwar was nominated.