Wholesale cloth merchants oppose GST

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 30 Jun 2017 09:21:04


Business Bureau,

The Wholesale Cloth and Yarn Merchants Association called one-day strike on Thursday against imposition of 5 per cent GST on textile sector. All the shops in the Wholesale Market, Popular Cloth Market, Sarvoday Cloth Market, Handloom Market, Soot Market, Jhunjhunwala Market, Chandni Chowk Bazaar Market, etc., were closed on Thursday. The cloth markets wore a deserted look as shutters were pulled down by cloth merchants. The members of The Wholesale Cloth and Yarn Merchants Association assembled at the market and shouted slogans against the Government.

Ajaykumar Madan, President of The Wholesale Cloth and Yarn Merchants Association and Jayesh Tanna, Secretary demanded the Government to keep cloth merchants away from GST. Government should not imposes GST against the interest of cloth merchants, Madan said.

Extending support to the agitation, Dipen Agrawal, President of Chamber of Associations of Maharashtra Industry & Trade (CAMIT) said, “Textile sector was never levied any kind of tax, be it service tax, VAT or Excise, so GST makes no sense. Also, the traders have been given no training about GST and penalty and punishment for non-compliance is harsh and frightening for them.

” He said, the Chamber would meet and discuss the issue with Sudhir Mungantiwar, Maharashtra Minister for Finance, Devendra Fadnavis, Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Arun Jaitley, Union Finance Minister and Narendra Modi, Prime Minister. The Chamber would appeal all the ministers and concerned department not to impose GST on textile sector.

Gopal Soni and Hemant Khungar, past presidents of Nag Vidarbha Chamber of Commerce (NVCC), Harish Krishnani, President of The Itwari Kirana Merchant Association and Shiv Pratap Singh, Secretary also extended their support to the agitation and assured the cloth merchants that they would fight against injustice. Present were Rakesh Jham, Ashok Atlani, Gupal Multani, Manak Bhutada, Dinesh Sarda, Mahesh Kukreja, Gopal Bhatia, Vijay Punyani, Harish Vidhani, Omprakash Jajoo, Satish Bhirani, Kashmir Khungar, Ashok Hudia, Jethmal Daga, Pratap Bhavrani, Vijaykumar Shah, Vijay Guru and others.