Presidential polls today

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 17 Jul 2017 08:54:47



ELECTION for the next President of India will be held on Monday where NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind is pitted against Opposition nominee Meira Kumar. The counting of votes will take place on July 20 in New Delhi where all the ballot boxes will be brought from various state capitals. The total value of votes of the electoral college is 10,98,903, and the NDA candidate is slated to cross the halfway-mark and get about 63 per cent votes.

The electorate, comprising elected Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members and members of State Assemblies, is tilted in favour of the NDA, but the Opposition is still working to seek support of some regional parties in favour of their candidate. Both Kovind, a former Bihar Governor, and Kumar, the former Lok Sabha Speaker, have held a series of meetings across States to garner support for their candidature. The tenure of incumbent Pranab Mukherjee comes to an end on July 24. So far 13 stalwarts, including Mukherjee, have held the post.

The electoral college which elects the President through the system of proportional representation, comprises MPs and members of State legislative assemblies. A total of 4896 voters --- 4120 MLAs and 776 elected MPs -- are eligible to cast their ballot. MLCs of States with legislative council are not part of the electoral college. All arrangements have been completed for the presidential election, and polling will take place in Parliament House and respective State Assemblies between 10 am and 5 pm. Elected members of both Houses of Parliament and Assemblies in States, including the National Capital Region of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry, are eligible to vote.

While the Lok Sabha Speaker, an elected member, can vote, the two nominated members in the Lower House from the Anglo-Indian community cannot. Twelve nominated members in Rajya Sabha are also ineligible.

Since the election is through a secret ballot, the parties cannot issue a whip to their members to vote for a particular candidate. A total of 13 vacancies in Lok Sabha and State Assemblies will be filled up after the presidential elections.
The NDA, led by the BJP, has 5,37,683 votes includes the Shiv Sena, and the shortage is around 12,000 votes.

But the promised support from the BJD, the TRS and the YSR Congress and likely backing from the AIADMK factions could offset the shorfall of the presidential votes by a substantial margin. In the 2012 elections, Pranab Mukherjee garnered 7,13,763 votes, while Pratibha Patil secured 6,38,116 votes in the previous polls in 2007. Both Mukherjee and Patil were Congress nominees.
This time, the Lok Sabha Secretary General Anoop Mishra is the Returning Officer. Last time, it was the Secretary General of Rajya Sabha.

A total of 32 polling stations -- one in Parliament House and one each in the State Legislative Assemblies, have been set up. Thirty-three observers have been appointed by the EC to oversee the conduct of election. While two observers will be present in the Parliament House, one each will be deployed in the respective State Assemblies.
Meanwhile, All major political parties of Bihar on Sunday held meetings to discuss strategy on the Presidential election slated for today.

55 MPs to vote in their State Assemblies: EC:
UTTAR Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his Goa counterpart Manohar Parrikar are among 55 MPs who will vote in their State Assemblies instead of Parliament House for the presidential election on Monday, an Election Commission document says. Five MLAs will cast their ballot in Parliament House and four other legislators will vote in State Assemblies which they have not been elected to.
Usually, MPs vote in Parliament House and MLAs in their respective State Assemblies. As per rules governing presidential elections, lawmakers can ask the Commission to make an exception to allow them to vote from some other place.

According to the EC document, it has allowed 14 Rajya Sabha and 41 Lok Sabha members to vote in State Assemblies instead of Parliament House on Monday.
These include Parrikar, Adityanath and UP Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya, who have not yet given up their Parliament membership. While Parrikar is a Rajya Sabha member, Adityanath and Maurya are Lok Sabha members.