State Congress leaders detained on way to President’s House in Delh

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 11 Aug 2017 10:23:02


Staff Reporter,


Dozens of Congress leaders including 3 MPs and 28 MLAs from Chhattisgarh were detained by Delhi police when they were marching towards President’s House in New Delhi on Thursday to protest against the early winding up of the monsoon session of Chhattisgarh Assembly.

Chhattisgarh Congress In-charge and Rajya Sabha Member P L Punia, Rajya Sabha Member Chhaya Verma, Durg Lok Sabha Member Tamradhwaj Sahu, Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee (CPCC) President Bhupesh Baghel, Leader of Opposition in Chhattisgarh Assembly T S Singhdeo, MLAs Motilal Dewangan, Gurmukh Singh Hora, Jaisingh Agrawal, Shyamlal Kanwar, Deepak Baij, Shankar Dhruwa, former Leader of Opposition in Chhattisgarh assembly Ravindra Choubey, former Minister Amitesh Shukla, Vikas Upadhyay, Girish Dewangan, Gyanesh Sharma and other Congress leaders were detained and they were kept at Mandir Marg police station in New Delhi and later released.

CPCC Spokesman Vikas Tiwari said that Congress leaders led by Bhupesh Baghel and T S Singhdeo marched from P L Punia’s residence located at Gurudwara Road, Rakaj Ganj-34 to President’s House. When the Congress leaders reached Vijay Chowk and while proceeding towards the President’s House, all the protestors were forcefully detained by Delhi police and taken to Mandir Marg police station, he added. Leader of Opposition in Chhattisgarh Assembly T S Singhdeo told ‘ The Hitavada’ that some Congress leaders had sustained minor injuries when the police forcefully detained them.

Singhdeo claimed that Congress MLAs had planned to raise Panama paper leak issue and charges of corruption on Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh, Agriculture Minister Brijmohan Agrawal and other ministers in the house but the house was adjourned sine die on third day, while the house was scheduled to transact business in 8 sittings.

The protestors raised slogans against Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government. Speaking to ‘The Hitavada,’ a Delhi police officer said that the protestors had come on the route of the Prime Minister’s convoy so they were detained to clear the road and brought to Mandir Marg police station.
No FIR was registered against the protestors, he added.