CM nominates five on MMC, paves way for it’s re-constitution

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 04 Aug 2017 10:20:20


Principal Correspondent,

Two from city likely to be on MMC, reveal sources

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, on Wednesday, nominated five members on the Maharashtra Medical Council (MMC). The nominations and their details have been sent to the Law and Judiciary Department.

The Chief Minister’s office swung into action following a news report -- ‘7 months since polls, MMC awaits re-constitution’ was published in ‘The Hitavada’ on July 31.
It was on December 24, 2016 that the results of elections of Maharashtra Medical Council (MMC) were declared. the new body was not formed since then. The nine elected members are yet to take charge. The elected office-bearers have been waiting for the Government to nominate five members on the body. Now, the nomination of the members has paved the way of re-constitution of MMC.

According to Medical Education Minister Girish Mahajan, the Chief Minister has sent the list of five names which has been forwarded to Law and Judiciary Department. He refused to disclose the names.
Highly placed sources informed ‘The Hitavada’ that names of Dr Vinky Rughvani, Dr Makarand Vyavahare (Professor at Indira Gandhi Government Medical College and Hospital), Dr Ajit Gopchade (Paediatrician, Nanded), Dr Bakulesh Mehta (Mumbai) and Dr Pratap Jadhav (Orthopaedic Surgeon, Jalgaon) are in the list.

Dr Rughwani and Dr Vyawahare both are from Nagpur. Dr Vyawahare is the only doctor from Government sector. Dr Rughwani has founded the Thalassemia centre and sickle cell which was inaugurated by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

The Council, which is required to prescribe and maintain the standard of medical education and regulate the functioning of general practitioners, was heading for a legal battle as some of its members were planning to knock the door of High Court.

It may be noted that the MMC has 18 posts, of which nine are elected. Five members are nominated by State Government which it did not do. The five include two ex-officio bearers, Director of Health Services, Director of Medical Education and Research, while two other members are elected from the Maharashtra University of Health Sciences, College of Physicians and Surgeons (CPS), and others.

Delay in re-constitution of the MMC has halted registration of new doctors, the redressal of members, the complaints lodged by the common public to doctors.
A senior doctor, on the condition of anonymity, told The Hitavada that some doctors were being targeted through fake complaints. The bosses in the office had suddenly became active in applying the powers.

Till the year 2009, the body was defunct for 12 years. The efforts taken by Indian Medical Association borne fruits and MMC
was re-constituted in the year 2009. Late Dr Kishor Taori became the Chairman. Even then, re-constitution took long time. It
was possible when the members moved court. It was then, various works including those stalled for want of MMC nod
gained momentum.