Disha felicitates blood donors for Thalassaemia patients

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 12 Sep 2017 12:44:23


Staff Reporter,

Expressing gratitude towards blood donors who contribute to safeguard the life of Thalassaemia, Disha Welfare Association Samiti organised a felicitation ceremony on Sunday.

The programme was organised simultaneously with an awareness camp for Thalassaemia disease. A number of thalassaemia patients arrived from different parts of Jabalpur city, shared their experiences with people gathered during the programme. They shared the pain they and their families have to undergo due to this disease.

It may be mentioned that Thalassaemia is a hereditary form of anemia marked by abnormal synthesis of haemoglobin and is widespread in various African and Asian countries.
Rajya Sabha MP Vivek Krishna Tankha was invited as chief guest in the programme, which was presided over by Mayor, Dr Swati Godbole. Those who were present as special guests included Abhishek Chouksey, vice-president Cantonment Board, Rekha Singh, M-I-C, Talvinder Kaur Gujral and Rajesh Yadav corporators.

Observing the pain of patients, Vivek Tankha announced to arrange separate thalassaemia ward to solve the problems of its patients. He also assured to avail medicines for patients’ treatment at affordable prices.
Mayor, Dr Swati Godbole favoring the opinion of Vivek Tankha, assured to provide every required facility to the Thalassaemia patients at different levels.

During final phase of programme, persons who regularly donate their blood for these patients, were honoured with mementos and letters of appreciation. Around 200 regular blood donors were felicitated for their precious contribution to serve the suffering humanity.

Various groups including Maa Rewa Raktdaan Samiti, Red Nector Group, Shiksha Group Develop-ing Hands Blood Donation Group were specially honoured. Those who rendered active support to make the programme successful included Anit Patel, Pushpraj Pandey, Rakesh Dubey, Surendra Rawat, Dr Krishna Patel, Devi Singh Jharia, Sidhdartha Jharia and others.