Rajnandgaon Hockey Assn team crushed by CR Mumbai

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 01 Jan 2018 14:23:11

Sports Reporter,


Dec 31,

Central Railway (CR) Mumbai crushed host Rajnandgaon District Hockey Association team by 9-0 goals at the 76th Mahant Raja Sarveshwar Das Memorial All India Hockey Tournament underway at Rajnandgaon International Hockey Stadium. In another match, South Central Railway (SCR) Secunderabad defeated Pamposh Hostel by 4-0 goals. In the third match of the day, defending champion Bharat Petroleum New Delhi defeated SAIl Academy Rourkela by 3-0 goals to enter the semi finals of the tournament.

Playing a dominant game from the very beginning of the match, CR Mumbai players scored goals at their will. Vinit Kambli, Mohd Niyauddin and Deepak Lakra scored one goal each for CR Mumbai in the first half to enter the second half with 3-0. In the second half, Vinit, Rajendra Pawar scored goals in the 39th and 50th minutes followed by Niyauddin scored goals in 51, 52nd minutes to take 7-0 lead for his team. Deepak Lakra and Vinit scored two more goals to take the lead to 9-0 which remained till the end. In the second match, SCR Secunderabad players Ajit Pandey, Pratap Lakra, Gurubaid Singh scored goals. The winning team collected three crucial points from the win.

In the third match, defending champion Bharat Petroleum had to struggle to win the match against SAIL Rourkela. Both teams were goalless till 55th minute of the match and it looked like the results will be decided through penalty shoot-out when BP got a penalty corner in the 61st minute of the match. Varun Kumar converted it into goal to take 1-0 lead. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay scored another goal for his team in the 64th minute followed by Mohd Amir Khan scored the third goal to win the match for his team by 3-0 goals. CA Rajesh Jain honoured the players.

CR Mumbai player Mohd Niyazuddin, SCR Secunderabad player Niyaz Rahim and BP New Delhi player Varun Kumar were adjudged as Man of the Match for their performance in their respective matches.

Today’s matches

Pampos Hostel, Rourkela vs Sports Club Gorakhpur at 10.45 am, Indian Oil vs Sports Hostel Bhubaneswar at 12.15 pm, ONGC New Delhi vs Central Railway Mumbai at 1.45 pm and South Centre, Secunderabad vs MP Hockey Academy Bhopal at 3.15 pm.