‘Society should support activities of dedicated social workers’

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 02 Jan 2018 09:33:45


Staff Reporter,

The society should support activities of dedicated social workers, for bringing about the desired change. Those who work, never try for their publicity, Former Maharashtra Minister for Social Justice Shivajirao Moghe said. He congratulated S M Zade Foundation for granting recognition to such dedicated workers.

Moghe was delivering presidential address during S M Zade Foundation award function. Renowned social worker from Melghat Dr Ravindra Kolhe was the chief guest. Advisor of Zade Foundation M M Gadkari was the guest of honour. President of the Foundation Vikas Zade, Vice-president Balwant Morghade, Executive Member Narayan Samarth were seated on the dais.

Moghe narrated his experience while working in tribal area in introducing de-addiction programmes, mass marriage etc. Moghe, expressed great concern over increasing addiction. He stated that he had introduced policy on de-addiction and supported several organisations working on the issue. Even Sahitya Sammelan on the issue was held during his tenure as minister.

Dr Ravindra Kolhe also narrated his experience as a student. Coming from economically weaker family, he could become a doctor because of support extended by some persons having social concern. The education, now, has become so costly that a poor family cannot afford it. He appealed to the people to come together to raise voice against policies which are dividing the society in classes. This is possible by generating awareness and pressurise the government to frame policy for welfare of all.

The award winners were : Dr Govind Samarth award for service to the disabled - Shriram Panherkar; Meeraben Shah Social Service award - Sushila Bijamwar; N B Sapate Ideal Teacher award - Dr D B Bankar; S M Zade Rural Journalism award - Ganesh Khawse and Dr Atul Kallawar Health Service award - Dr Ashok Dhabekar.

The award winners also expressed their views in brief.
Gadkari spoke about the objective behind instituting the awards. Narayan Samarth gave information about the activities of the Foundation.

Morghade made introductory remarks. Dhananjay Tambekar conducted the proceedings. Vikas Zade proposed a vote of thanks.