ACM India’s ‘Annual Event 2018’ from Feb 15

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 30 Jan 2018 10:17:17


Business Bureau,

THE prestigious ACM India Annual Event 2018, a flagship event of ACM India, has been announced to be held at Nagpur from February 15 to February 17, 2018. The 2018 event will also be broadcasted live on YouTube. This was revealed by Sameer Bendre, Chief People Officer of Persistent Systems Ltd while talking at a press conference on Monday.

The event will be attended by the ACM Turing award winners, ACM office bearers, researchers and IT professionals from all over the world to celebrate the spirit of Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and India’s achievements in the computing.

Bendre said that Martin E Hellman, Turing award winner 2015, Robert Tarjan, Turing award winner 1986, Moshe Vardi, ACM Presidential award winner 2017 and Sunita Sarawagi, Professor, IIT Bombay will be present to give the keynote speeches on cryptography, machine learning, artificial intelligence and automation and their impact on humans.

Dr Narendra Choudhari, Director of VNIT said that the event has been organised by the ACM, Nagpur Chapter in association with Persistent Systems Limited, VNIT, Cummins College of Engineering for Women and Yeshwantrao Chavan College of Engineering (YCCE).
Dr Umesh Deshpande, HoD Computer Science Deptt of VNIT explained that the ACM India has designed the CSPathshala workshop to bring a modern computing curriculum to Indian schools. iSIGCSE will be working towards higher education in India by adopting ACM-IEEE CS2013 Computing Curricula model.

Prof Kishore Bhoyar of YCCE said that the ACM is the worlds largest educational and scientific society that unites computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the fields challenges.

ACM Nagpur Chapter is reaching out to various institutions and industries associated with computing to nominate the interested faulty and students for the event. The event will be available to the nominated candidates free of cost. Laxman Potbhare, ECM of ACM, Nagpur Chapter and Vinit Kapoor, Secretary were also present.
For more details, log on to [email protected] or call (Ph: 086-055-29539). For the complete programme schedule interested may visit