Tennis: Himanshu becomes state champion for 4th time in a row

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 31 Jan 2018 12:16:25

Sports Reporter

Himanshu Mourya from Bhilai became state champion in Men’s Singles event for fourth consecutive time when he defeated Pratik Bakshi in the final of Chhattisgarh State Tennis Championship in straight sets by 6-1, 6-2. Similarly, Himanshu along with Doubles partner Sourabh Singh won Men’s Doubles title of the championship as they defeated Varun Tiwari-Utkarsh Mishra by 9-3 in the final.

In 40+ Singles final, Jashvinder Singh defeated Suryakant Khandelwal (Dhamtari) while in Doubles, Suryakant Khandelwal-Amit Jain defeated Jashvinder Singh-Upendra Ghavri in the final. Khirman Tandi defeated Atharv Raj Balani in the Boy’s U-12 final by 4-1, 4-1 to win the title.

Indian Olympic Association Joint Secretary Vikram Singh Sisodia, Chhattisgarh State Tennis Association general secretary Gurucharan Singh Hora and treasurer Lawrence Santiago were present as guests at the prize distribution function, said championship coordinator Rupendra Singh Chouhan.