Balaghat’s Lanji full of uncertainties

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 11 Oct 2018 14:17:38


By Ashish Rajput,

BALAGHAT’S Lanji Assembly Constituency No-109 proved unpredicted for political parties with full of uncertainties in previous three Assembly elections. Congress Party’s Hina Lekhiram Bhatere succeeded in ending victory run of Bharatiya Janata Party’s two times MLA Ramesh Bhatele in 2013 elections after his two consecutive victories in 2008 and 2003 elections.

In 2003 elections, Bhatele registered matchless victory as security of all the opponent candidates was forfeited. Assembly Election-2008 witnessed triangular contest between BJP, Congress and Samajwadi Party.

In Assembly Elections-2013, a total number of 1,64,077 voters exercised their right against registered number of 2,07,540 voters. Total 16 nominations were filed, two were withdrawn and 14 candidates contested elections. Congress Party’s Hina Lekhiram Kanwre (79,068 votes) registered a landslide victory against Bharatiya Janata Party’s Ramesh Dilip Bhatere (47,318 votes) by a lead of 31,750 votes. Independent candidate Yogesh Nanaji Samrite (17,510 votes) was third leading candidate. Bahujan Samaj Party’s Jyoti Ishwar Umre (6,319 votes), Shiv Sena’s Rajnish Badgaiyya (2,389 votes), Samajwadi Party’s Vijay Beniram Ware (993 votes), independent candidates Kumar Dali Kanwre (481 votes), Narendra Puranlal Jamre (539 votes), Mithilesh Mishra (572 votes), Meena Uikay (668 votes), Ramesh Kamde (1,497 votes) and Ramkishore Sharma (2,644 votes). In Assembly Elections-2008, total 1,36,087 voters turnout was reported against total 1,74,431 registered voters. Total 20 nominations were filed, four were withdrawn and 16 candidates contested elections. Bharatiya Janata Party’s Rakesh Dilip Bhatere (42,461 votes) defeated his closest opponent Congress’ candidate Pushplata Lakhiram Kanwre (34,237 votes) by a margin of 8,224 votes, while Samajwadi Party’s Kishore Samrite (31,684 votes) secured third position.

Bahujan Samaj Party’s Virendra Khongal (15,050 votes), Bharatiya Jan Shakti’s Budhram Devgade (1,012 votes), Republican Party of India (A)’s Rakesh Kumar Kamble (211 votes), Gondwana Mukti Sena’s Ramdas Sahare (346 votes), Janata Dal (United)’s Heeralal Panche (878 votes), independent candidates, Umrao Metan Choudhary (241 votes), Karansingh Bisandas Nagpure (209 votes), Jagdish Surman Badgaiyya (385 votes), Jeevansingh Tekam (479 votes), Prakash Chuttani (1,712 votes), Bharat Kalbele (2,148 votes), Ramkishore Sharma (1,711 votes) and Sukhram Asatkar (3,323 votes).

In Assembly Elections-2003, total 88,052 voters used their voting rights against registered number of 1,18,234 voters. Total 14 nominations were filed, two were rejected, four were withdrawn and eight candidates contested elections.
BJP’s Dilip Bhatere (29,846 votes) registered one-sided victory, while Congress candidate Bhagwat Bhau Nagpure (14,611 votes), Samajwadi Party’s Kishore Samrite (14,410 votes ), Bahujan Samaj Party’s Dr K L Marathe (12,723 votes), Nationalist Congress Party’s Narbada Prasad Shrivastava (11,175 votes), Rashtriya Samanta Dal’s Kilorechandra Bharadwaj (1,198 votes), Rashtriya Lokdal’s Chaitram Bisen (967 votes) and independent candidate, Tarun Naktode (3,122 votes).