BJP to name new Mayor, Dy Mayor by October end

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 12 Oct 2018 10:14:34


Staff Reporter,

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is contemplating bringing in a new face for the post of Mayor ahead of the general elections. The party is also likely to replace Deputy Mayor as well as the ruling party leader in Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) as per the feelers from the senior party leaders.  Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Union Minister for Road Transport Nitin Gadkari will decide the name for the post of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Ruling Party leader. The elections of top brass of NMC will be held later this month.

Presently, Mayor Nanda Jichkar, Deputy Mayor Deepraj Pardikar and Ruling Party Leader Sandip Joshi are at the helm of affairs of civic body.  The names of senior corporators Varsha Thakre, Chetana Tank, Manisha Kothe, Divya Dhurde, and Sangita Girhe being considered for the post.

The party may consider names of Rajesh Ghodpage, Sandeep Gavai, Deepak Choudhari for the post of Deputy Mayor.  The party may named Pravin Datke, Dr Ravindra Bhoyar, Sanjay Bangale or Dayashankar Tiwari for the post of Ruling Party leader.  The tenure of Mayor is two and half years and new team will get only 11 months to rule. The local core committee has sent few names to both the leaders recently.
The final decision may be taken in this week, sources added.