Congress reigns supreme in Chitrakoot

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 27 Oct 2018 11:45:25


By Ashish Rajput,

CONGRESS emerged strongest party in triangular contest since last three Assembly elections in Satna district’s Chitrakoot Assembly Constituency No-61. The constituency proved a hard-nut to crack for Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in three Assembly elections and a by-election. Chitrakoot remains a conventional seat for Congress and its senior leader Prem Singh won in 2013 and 2003 Assembly elections.

BJP’s Surendra Singh Gaharwar won 2008 election by 722 votes. Besides this, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) emerged as second leading party in the constituency in 2003 and third in 2013 elections. Demise of MLA Prem Singh led to by-elections in November 2017 and Congress candidate Neelanshu Chaturvedi continued the victory run by registering victory over closest BJP candidate. NOTA (none of the above) got third leading vote share of 2,455 votes in the by-election.

In the by-election-2017, total 1,28,658 voters turnout was reported against 1,98,122 voters. Total 25 nominations were filed 11 were rejected, two withdrawn and 12 candidates contested elections. Congress Party’s candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi (66,810 votes) registered victory against BJP’s Shankar Dayal Tripathi (52,677 votes) by a lead of 14,133 votes.

In 2013 Assembly election, total 1,23,529 votes were cast against total 1,84,940 voters. Total 20 nominations were filed and 20 candidates contested election. Congress candidate Prem Singh (45,913 votes) defeated BJP’s sitting MLA Surendra Singh Gaharwar (34,943 votes) by a margin of 21,638 votes. BSP’s Teerath Prasad Kushwaha (24,275 votes) was third leading candidate.

Besides, Nationalist Congress Party’s Shanti Bhushan Pandey (2,220 votes), Samajwadi Party’s Akhilesh Prasad Pandey (1,659 votes), Bahujan Sangharsh Dal’s Ganesh Bari (405 votes), Janata Dal (Secular)’s Dilip Sharma (231 votes), Rashtriya Apna Dal’s Foolchand Patel (456 votes), Gondwana Gantantra Party’s Bandelal Kol (2,614 votes), Rashtriya Bahujan Congress Party’s Bhaiyyalal Urmalia (504 votes), All India Forward Block’s Rajesh Kumar Sharma (308 votes), Samta Samadhan Party’s Ripusudan Tiwari (903 votes), Rashtriya Parivartan Dal’s Lilawati Yadav Khohi (2,148 votes), Apna Dal’s Shyamnarayan (639 votes), independent candidates, Avadh Bihari Mishra (2,235 votes), Umashankar Tripathi (887 votes), Balram Chaturvedi (808 votes), Rabikumar Gupta (441 votes), Rakesh Kumar Satnami (539 votes).

In 2008 Assembly election, total 95,101 voters cast their votes against total 1,48,957 voters. Total 27 nominations were filed, four were rejected, two were withdrawn and 21 candidates contested election. BJP’s Surendra Singh Gaharwar (24,955 votes) registered a close victory against Congress sitting MLA Prem Singh (24,233 votes) by a margin of only 722 votes. BSP’s Ranjan Bajpai (18,534 votes) was third leading candidate, while Samajwadi Party’s Chandan Singh Chouhan (1,944 votes), Rashtriya Janata Dal’s Rajvant Singh (1,073 votes), Indian Justice Party’s Ashok Kumar Kushwaha (717 votes), Apna Dal’s Usha Devi Verma (516 votes), Lok Jan Shakti Party’s Kasturi Bai Sen (648 votes), Gondwana Gantantra Party’s Ganesh Sen (1,943 votes), Rashtriya Samanta Dal’s Badri Patel (5,711 votes), Bharatiya Jan Shakti’s Ramroop Patel (3,215 votes), Samta Party’s Suresh Kumar Mishra (795 votes), Gondwana Mukti Sena’s Haredev Singh Maravi (1,579 votes), independent candidates, Anil Dwivedi (682 votes), Avadhbihari Mishra (1,310 votes), Anand Choube (2,212 votes), Dadulal (1,222 votes), Bhagwat Prasad Tripathi (1,681 votes), Ramkishore alias Buddhu Pandey (549 votes), Satyaprakash Tripathi (591 votes) and Savitri Pandey (941 votes). In 2003 Assembly election, total 1,01,115 voters used their voting right against total 1,60,426 voters.

Total 17 nominations were filed, one was rejected, two were withdrawn and 14 candidates contested election. Congress’ Prem Singh (32,918 votes) defeated Bahujan Samaj Party’s Badri Prasad Patel (24,119 votes) by a lead of 8,799 votes. Independent candidate Ranjan Bajpai (15,643 votes) was third leading candidate, while BJP’s Ramanand Singh (13,654 votes), Apna Dal’s Arjun Prasad (823 votes), Janata Dal (United)’s Avadh Bihari Mishra (698 votes), Gondwana Gantantra Party’s Usha Singh (2,194 votes), Rashtriya Samanta Dal’s Ganesh (3,221 votes), Lok Jan Shakti Party’s Pratima Singh (1,071 votes), Samajwadi Party’s Yograj Dwivedi (3,347 votes), independent candidates, Arun Pratap Singh (740 votes), Kamal Kant (546 votes), Bhagwan Deen (731 votes) and Munni Kranti (1,410 votes).