Adv Kamal Satuja is new DBA chief, Nitin Deshmukh is new Secy

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 28 Oct 2018 09:51:41


Staff Reporter,

In a keenly fought three-cornered fight for the post of District Bar Association (DBA), Adv Kamal Satuja emerged a clear winner defeating his nearest rival Adv Uday Dable, backed by many stalwarts by an impressive margin of 278 votes. Satuja received 1,478 votes, while Dable could secure only 1,203 votes. Manoj Sable was relegated to third position with 629 votes.

Adv Kamal Satuja, a former Vice-President of DBA, was backed by a strong group led by senior advocate and ex-HCBA President Avinash Gupta, Adv Shreerang Bhandarkar, ex-DBA President Sudeep Jaiswal, Sham Dewani and obviously received backing of young brigade of High Court and District Court.

The outcome of this election will have huge ramifications in coming days. Though the elections were not fought on group basis, but the dominant role played by young lawyers, who seemed to have defied old timers, will be a curious thing to watch in near future.  For the key post of DBA Secretary Nitin Deshmukh emerged victorious in a nail-biting finish by a slender margin of 24 votes over his nearest rival Vivek Kolte. For DBA Secretary’s post, there was contest between five candidates Vivek Kolte, Ranjan Deshpande, Mangesh Moon, Nitin Deshmukh and Sushil Kalyani. A low-profile Nitin Deshmukh was preferred by most district court practitioners.

Out of 3,905 members, as many as 3,290 exercised their voting right on Friday in this hotly contested elections. The counting process was deftly conducted by a four-member election committee headed by veteran lawyer Adv K B Ambilwade, Adv P K Mishra, Adv Shailesh Gadhia and Adv Abdul Bashir, who painstakingly counted the votes with the help of volunteers without allowing any controversy and breach of decorum.

For two posts of Vice-President there was a contest between Parag Bezalwar, Shashank Choube, Soumitra Pal, Vilas Raut, Chhaya Yadav, Vilas Selokar, Prabhakar Bhure, Manish Gupta, Vivek Karade, Sunil Lacharwar and Tawir Sheikh. Shashank Choube and Vivek Karade emerged victorious. Choube polled 1,018 votes and Karade polled 922 votes.

For the one post of Library in-charge there is contest between Kirtikumar Kadu, Sharad Panpalia, Nitesh Samudre, Vicky Tambe and Mangala Warke. For the key post of DBA treasurer Nitin Gandhi, Anil Gulhane, Tarun Parmar, Sagarika Pathak. In all there are 67 candidates and majority of them for two posts of joint secretary and nine posts of executive committee.