Aruna Dhere named President of 92nd Marathi Sahitya Sammelan

Source: The Hitavada      Date: 29 Oct 2018 09:43:24


Yavatmal Correspondent and Staff Reporter,

The coveted literary meet is scheduled to be held in Yavatmal in January 2019

DR ARUNA Dhere, renowned litterateur, was named on Sunday as the President of the 92nd Akhil Bharatiya Marathi Sahitya Sammelan scheduled to be held at Postal Ground in Yavatmal from January 11 to January 13, 2019.
Dr Dhere’s name was finalised in a meeting held on Sunday. Dr Shripad Bhalchandra Joshi, President of Akhil Bharatiya Marathi Sahitya Mahamandal, chaired the meeting. The names of Prabha Ganorkar, Dr Aruna Dhere, Bhalchandra Nemade, and Premanand Gazvi were discussed in the meeting. Four units of the Mahamandal supported Dr Aruna Dhere for the prestigious position of President of 92nd Akhil Bharatiya Sahitya Sammelan, and her name was finalised unanimously.

Dr Vilas Chintaman Deshpande, Dr Indrajit Orke, Dr Vidya Deodhar, Prof Kautikrao Thale Patil, Dr Anupama Ujagare, Dr Sudhakar Bhale, Prof Milind Joshi, Kapoor Wasnik, Prakash Paygude, Chandrashekhar Joshi, Dr Aasaram Lomte, Dilip Khopkar, Vinod Kulkarni, Eknath Aawhad, and Dr Laxmikant Deshmukh, President of last year’s meet, and office-bearers of Akhil Bharatiya Sahitya Mahamandal attended the meeting in which the name of Dr Dhere was finalised.

The decision to ‘choose with consensus’ and not ‘elect’ the President for the prestigious event of the Marathi literary world was taken some time ago by Akhil Bharatiya Marathi Sahitya Mahamandal. The idea was to avoid controversies surrounding the election of the President for meets in the past. As per the new decision, the nominations were invited from various units affiliated to Akhil Bharatiya Marathi Sahitya Mahamandal. There was widespread speculation that Kautikrao Thale Patil, President of Marathwada Sahitya Parishad, might get chosen as per the new system.

However, only four names came up for discussion before the Mahamandal on Sunday. Of them, the name of Dr Aruna Dhere was finalised with ‘consensus’.
Dr Dhere will be among the few women litterateurs who got the honour of presiding over Akhil Bharatiya Marathi Sahitya Sammelan. In 1961, Kusumavati Deshpande had presided over the meet held at Gwalior. Durga Bhagwat was the President of the 1975 meet at Karad. Shanta Shelke chaired the meet held at Alandi in 1996. Vijaya Rajadhyaksha was elected the President of Akhil Bharatiya Marathi Sahitya Sammelan held at Indore in 2001. After 17 years since then, now, a woman litterateur -- Dr Aruna Dhere -- has been named as President of the prestigious literary event.

Born on February 2, 1957 at Pune, Dr Aruna Dhere is daughter of noted litterateur of yesteryears Dr R C Dhere, a recipient of coveted Sahitya Akademi Award and an authority in Saint literature. She completed her MA and PhD in Pune. Later, she also served as teacher of Marathi in Pune University. She has to her credit six anthologies of poems, three novels, six collections of stories, 11 essay books, literary reviews etc. Her book ‘Vismrutichitre’ won her wide acclaim. She has served on various committees including Lok Sahitya Samiti, Sahitya Sanskriti Mandal, Rajya Marathi Vikas Sanstha etc.